Ubuntu

List of session type does not fit on screen with many window managers installed

Reported by Reinhard Tartler on 2012-10-19
302
This bug affects 70 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
unity-greeter (Ubuntu)
High
Unassigned

Bug Description

Please see the attached screenshot. The system has many window managers installed because it is a public lab machine with a many users that have different preferences. In order to change the session, one is supposed to confirm his selection by pressing the button at the bottem. However, the button hardly fits on the screen, in fact, one has to guess the purpose of the lowest button.

On option would be to have the list of managers in a scroll box.

-------------------------------
Desired resolution:

- Vertically middle align the desktop environment switcher with the back button when there are more than 6 desktop environments in the menu.

Reinhard Tartler (siretart) wrote :
Launchpad Janitor (janitor) wrote :

Status changed to 'Confirmed' because the bug affects multiple users.

Changed in unity-greeter (Ubuntu):
status: New → Confirmed
Changed in unity-greeter (Ubuntu):
assignee: Ubuntu Desktop (ubuntu-desktop) → Michael Terry (mterry)
importance: Undecided → High
Michael Terry (mterry) wrote :

This is related to design request bug 1059486 to vertically center things like the session chooser.

Mateo Salta (mateo-salta) wrote :

Yeah, I had so many I could not even switch sessions, the list went clear off the screen, I had to use tab and count how many tabs it took to get to the bottom then tab back to the button. This was even on a high resolution 22 inch monitor, so what does this have to do with "vertically centering" anything...

Keith Kessler (keithkessler) wrote :

This bug affects me as well.

Why can't this be put back to the behavior in 12.04 when the list was a scrollable dropdown?

And the session is not clickable and [enter]able?
Put a "OK" button on the bottom is meaningless.

Quoting 林博仁(Henry Lin) a.k.a. V字龍(Vdragon) (<email address hidden>):
> And the session is not clickable and [enter]able?
> Put a "OK" button on the bottom is meaningless.

Agreed - though that should probably be a different bug.

Michael Terry (mterry) wrote :

The OK button is gone in raring, which frees up a bit of space.

My current workaround is to install and use GDM instead.
# apt-get install gdm

Currently its both beautiful and working, however there's no "Remote login" function.

Changed in unity-greeter (Ubuntu):
assignee: Michael Terry (mterry) → nobody
Aditya Suseno (aditya-suseno) wrote :

12.04 Precise Pangolin login screen are better. It fits all my 15 Desktop Enviroment :-D

oskar (oskargibson) wrote :

Please add a scrollbar, such a silly thing could potentially discourage some people from using Linux, and for advanced users such as myself it's just annoying and an embarrassment to Linux.

repeat, Please just add a scrollbar!

Stephen M. Webb (bregma) on 2013-09-27
Changed in unity-greeter:
milestone: none → 14.04.01
status: New → Triaged
importance: Undecided → Medium
John Lea (johnlea) on 2013-10-01
description: updated
no longer affects: unity-greeter
Changed in unity-greeter (Ubuntu):
status: Confirmed → Triaged
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers

Bug attachments