Comment 18 for bug 278419

Marcelo Fernandez (fernandezm) wrote :

Ok, I installed the updated tzdata (from hardy-updates), and by now the time is correct. The problem is, in two weeks (Oct 19) we will have the same problem!

$ zdump -v /etc/localtime | egrep "2008|2009"
/etc/localtime Sun Mar 16 01:59:59 2008 UTC = Sat Mar 15 23:59:59 2008 ARST isdst=1 gmtoff=-7200
/etc/localtime Sun Mar 16 02:00:00 2008 UTC = Sat Mar 15 23:00:00 2008 ART isdst=0 gmtoff=-10800
/etc/localtime Sun Oct 19 02:59:59 2008 UTC = Sat Oct 18 23:59:59 2008 ART isdst=0 gmtoff=-10800
/etc/localtime Sun Oct 19 03:00:00 2008 UTC = Sun Oct 19 01:00:00 2008 ARST isdst=1 gmtoff=-7200
/etc/localtime Sun Mar 15 01:59:59 2009 UTC = Sat Mar 14 23:59:59 2009 ARST isdst=1 gmtoff=-7200
/etc/localtime Sun Mar 15 02:00:00 2009 UTC = Sat Mar 14 23:00:00 2009 ART isdst=0 gmtoff=-10800
/etc/localtime Sun Oct 18 02:59:59 2009 UTC = Sat Oct 17 23:59:59 2009 ART isdst=0 gmtoff=-10800
/etc/localtime Sun Oct 18 03:00:00 2009 UTC = Sun Oct 18 01:00:00 2009 ARST isdst=1 gmtoff=-7200

There are no plans from our government (Argentina) to set a DST this summer... so this version of tzdata (2008g) should be corrected, and updated again. :-\

Regards,
Marcelo