Comment 2 for bug 855556

Matthew Paul Thomas (mpt) wrote :

Huh, I assumed this was just a regression, not something that would need design work.

The design is fairly simple, though it would require one new string. There should be a PolicyKit permission for shutting down (including restarting) while other people are logged in, and only admins should have it. So if you choose either command while other accounts are logged in, you should get a PolicyKit dialog saying "Other user accounts are logged in. Shutting down before they log out may cause them to lose work. To continue, you need to authenticate."

That would answer all three questions: the dialog would be the thing warning you, if you weren't an admin you'd need an admin to authenticate for you, and that means the dialog could appear regardless of whether the active user account is an admin.