Comment 22 for bug 199167

Will Rouesnel (w-rouesnel) wrote :

Confirmed for 13.04 as well.

When logged into an SFTP share as root, if I edit a file by another user and hit save the file's permissions get reset to root:root.

This is a very big problem editing web-pages or configuration files which might been specific ownerships and not be world-readable since they then can't be loaded.