No way to come back if fast user switcher is activated accidentally

Bug #532531 reported by shafin on 2010-03-05
92
This bug affects 15 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
gdm (Ubuntu)
High
Robert Ancell
Lucid
High
Robert Ancell

Bug Description

Binary package hint: indicator-applet

Hi,
In th new fast user switcher applet, when I click a user name, I'm presented with the new GDM with only the intended user present. It contains a password box, and two buttons called cancel and log in. The problem occurs when I've clicked the FUSA accidentally, or missed the click and clicked a different user and don't know the password of the user I clicked. in this case, I'd expect the cancel button to take me back to the full GDM list, as it happens during normal log in. But in this case, the cancel button just reloads the same page. So there is no way left to get back to my desktop. I have to restart the machine and log back into my account. All my unsaved works are lost. I believe this is a serious bug that needs to be addressed quickly. When I click the cancel button I should be taken to the normal GDM list so that I can log in to my account.

Thanks for your time.

ProblemType: Bug
Architecture: amd64
Date: Fri Mar 5 16:00:39 2010
DistroRelease: Ubuntu 10.04
Package: indicator-applet-session 0.3.2-0ubuntu3
ProcEnviron:
 LANGUAGE=bn_BD:bn:en_IN:en_GB:en
 LANG=bn_BD.utf8
 SHELL=/bin/bash
ProcVersionSignature: Ubuntu 2.6.32-13.18-generic
SourcePackage: indicator-applet
Uname: Linux 2.6.32-13-generic x86_64

shafin (mahdee-jameel) wrote :
affects: indicator-applet (Ubuntu) → indicator-session (Ubuntu)
Sebastien Bacher (seb128) wrote :

Confirmed, that's a gdm issue with the user switching change robert_ancell worked on this cycle

affects: indicator-session (Ubuntu) → gdm (Ubuntu)
Changed in gdm (Ubuntu):
assignee: nobody → Canonical Desktop Team (canonical-desktop-team)
importance: Undecided → High
status: New → Confirmed

Robert - is it feasible to add a Cancel button or such? If a fix for this is not feasible, please assign back to Canonical Desktop Team.

Changed in gdm (Ubuntu Lucid):
assignee: Canonical Desktop Team (canonical-desktop-team) → Robert Ancell (robert-ancell)
Robert Ancell (robert-ancell) wrote :

Had a quick look at this, will try again next week. The issue appears to be that pressing the cancel button destroys the dialog and creates a new one that automatically selects the user again. The fix is to only select the user the first time the dialog is created. I have to find which layer of GDM is doing this...

Launchpad Janitor (janitor) wrote :

This bug was fixed in the package gdm - 2.30.0-0ubuntu4

---------------
gdm (2.30.0-0ubuntu4) lucid; urgency=low

  * debian/patches/29_switch_user.patch:
    - Deselect user when cancelling user switch (LP: #532531)
 -- Robert Ancell <email address hidden> Tue, 13 Apr 2010 15:43:37 +0800

Changed in gdm (Ubuntu Lucid):
status: Confirmed → Fix Released
shafin (mahdee-jameel) wrote :

Thanks for fixing :)

To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers