Empathy sends a notification "Password required" without any supplementary info

Bug #840875 reported by Séverin Lemaignan on 2011-09-04
166
This bug affects 35 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
empathy (Ubuntu)
Low
Unassigned

Bug Description

Empaty has automatically re-imported my account from Natty (gmail/jabber).

At startup, it now always displays a notification "<email address hidden> Password required" (idem for gmail).

It connects however successfully to my accounts.

The notification should either be removed or give more details: which password is required, where, etc.

ProblemType: Bug
DistroRelease: Ubuntu 11.10
Package: empathy 3.1.90-0ubuntu1
ProcVersionSignature: Ubuntu 3.0.0-9.15-generic 3.0.3
Uname: Linux 3.0.0-9-generic i686
Architecture: i386
Date: Sun Sep 4 12:10:32 2011
ExecutablePath: /usr/bin/empathy
InstallationMedia: Ubuntu 11.04 "Natty Narwhal" - Release i386 (20110427.1)
ProcEnviron:
 LANGUAGE=fr:en
 PATH=(custom, no user)
 LANG=fr_FR.UTF-8
 LC_MESSAGES=fr_FR.UTF-8
 SHELL=/bin/bash
SourcePackage: empathy
UpgradeStatus: Upgraded to oneiric on 2011-09-02 (1 days ago)

Séverin Lemaignan (skadge) wrote :
Dylan McCall (dylanmccall) wrote :

The issue here is that Empathy is checking for notification server capabilities and stripping the action hint (because notify-osd doesn't do notification actions), but it isn't changing the message to compensate. In fixing this, please consider that the functionality is absolutely fine where it is with Gnome Shell, and any fix should be compatible with upstream.

Changed in empathy (Ubuntu):
status: New → Confirmed

I think there are two issues here: First, the message isn’t very useful without the action hint or additional information in the case actions are not available.

But second, why is the notification sent at all? It seems that no password is actually required, since the accounts do connect properly.

Onno Steenbergen (osteenbergen) wrote :

I'm also affected by this issue, however I think the message is send because I have it as a Startup Application. On login no network connection is available, which causes the messages and just after these messages appear a network connection is available and everything connects properly.
If I close the application and start it with a working connection I do not see any notifications.

So a fix might be to first check for a network connection before empathy tries to connect.

Onno Steenbergen (osteenbergen) wrote :

Added a sleep to my startup command, but that didn't help so there is something else wrong.

Vincenzoml (vincenzoml) wrote :

No, the same happens even when the network is properly connected. From the user point of view, this is just a plain old bug. Any workarounds?

Jay S (topdownjimmy) wrote :

Something that might be related to this is that sometimes when I shut down or log out, a window appears asking me to unlock my keyring. I thought my default keyring was unlocked when I logged in, but maybe it isn't anymore? And maybe this is why Empathy complains? Though I wouldn't then understand why I can connect anyway.

I couldn't connect to my Gmail jabber account at all under GNOME Shell, and when I logged out of that session and the keyring prompt appeared, I was able to enter my password and watch Empathy connect successfully before the system had logged me out.

Nafallo Bjälevik (nafallo) wrote :

I haven't got the issue mentioned in the last comment on any of my computers, fwiw. Not likely to be relevant to this bug.

Changed in empathy (Ubuntu):
importance: Undecided → Low
Felipe Castillo (fcastillo.ec) wrote :

I installed CloudSN a while ago, and I didn't notice it until now that the problem started since then. After reading Jay S post (#7) it occurred to me that maybe my "login" keyring wasn't the default any more. So indeed I checked and the "login" keyring wasn't set as default, after changing this, the problems was gone!!!

Bilal Shahid (s9iper1) wrote :

the particular bug is the duplicate of bug 896590 subscribe to the upstream bug and answer the developer there.

Changed in empathy (Ubuntu):
status: Confirmed → Invalid
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers