Comment 72 for bug 95853

I made a patch that will fix this by adding a new option to the preference menu. The option is FALSE by default, meaning that default behavior is for things to stay as they are. All those who want to be notified before moving stuff to the trash just check it true.
Hopefully it will be committed at some point.