preview windows too big for some files

Bug #329779 reported by Sebastián Porta on 2009-02-15
26
This bug affects 5 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Gloobus
Fix Committed
High
alfredo
Nominated for Gloobus-0.4 by alfredo
gloobus-preview
High
BadChoice

Bug Description

When I use gloobus-preview with some files the window it's too big.
I think that the window size should have some relation with the screen resolution and the file size.
I'm using gloobus 0.03 and uploaded a screenshot to illustrate this.

BadChoice (guitarboy000) wrote :

You're right, it happens with pdfs and text files. I did the logic for the images but pdf and text is still missing,
Thanks for pointing it!

Changed in gloobus:
assignee: nobody → guitarboy000
importance: Undecided → High
status: New → Confirmed
BadChoice (guitarboy000) on 2009-02-17
Changed in gloobus:
status: Confirmed → Fix Committed

Also, it possible to size down a little the window? I'm telling you this because I'm using Docky and the window preview it's cover by the dock if the file it's too big (I can provide a screenshot later if you want, I'm not on my computer right now).
It would be great if the user can resize the window (from the corner or with ALT+middle click) and gloobus-preview remember the size but I don't know if this it's possible.
Thank you very much, BadChoice.

BadChoice (guitarboy000) on 2009-05-09
Changed in gloobus:
status: Fix Committed → Fix Released

Sorry to bring this back but a saw, but I still have this problem when using a dock (see screen using Gloobus from trunk below).
I know that no all users use docks but since they are very popular maybe you can try to find a solution for this.
I thought you can make a Gloobus preferences program for this kind of stuff. What do use think?

I forgot to tell you a couple of details.
I using Gnome Do's Docky, icon size 64 and my screen resolution is 1280x1024.
If you need any other information just let me know.
Thank you.

Jorge Pérez (ktl-xv) wrote :

Im also affected by this bug when previewing ppt files, the preview goes off the screen (and it is also covered by awn dock)

MrSnowflake (mrsnowflake) wrote :

This problem also occurs in width. I'm using a dual screen setup (of different resolution) and the preview window is too wide for some files (I tried with a pdf).

BadChoice (guitarboy000) wrote :

Wuoooo I don't have a dual screen so I couldn't get it :P

I'll have to check how width is get, it seems that I get total width (not just one screen)

Changed in gloobus:
status: Fix Released → In Progress
milestone: none → 0.4.2
Lukas Bunsen (lukasbunsen) wrote :

Hi,
I get the same bug. I'm using two screens, the left montitor is running with 1440 * 900, the right has 1280 * 1024.
Gloobus Output:
»FILE INFO
Screen size: 2464x900
URI: file:///home/lukas/Uni/Zweites%20Semester%20(Herbst%2009)/Grundlagen%20des%20Marketing/01%20-%2010.09.09/1_Sitzung_Grundlagen.pdf
THUMB: /home/lukas/.thumbnails/normal/87c56f33d0d4c38c2a4b6ebc18d02a22.png
Type: application/pdf
Size: 346,05 KB
Loading Document (20 Pages)
Page size: 1875x750
** (gloobus-preview:10740): DEBUG: MAX LETTERS : 206
** (gloobus-preview:10740): DEBUG: Chars 24 - Width: 1835 => Space for = 456,000000«

Daniel Fore (danrabbit) wrote :

I added some more room at the bottom for docks, but I'm hesitant to mark fix committed.

Can the OP check out latest bzr and give feedback?

Daniel Fore (danrabbit) on 2009-12-23
Changed in gloobus-preview:
status: New → Incomplete
Changed in gloobus-preview:
status: Incomplete → Confirmed
importance: Undecided → High
assignee: nobody → BadChoice (guitarboy000)

I just installed the last rev. (great work, btw) and this seems fixed for me now.
I couldn't test pdf files because I couldn't open them with gloobus-preview. The window it's never launched and increase the CPU usage. Maybe I should open another report for this?

Sebastian

I think you have the same bug as me.

Add your terminal output to this bug: https://bugs.launchpad.net/gloobus-preview/+bug/500265

I'm marking this bug fixed for now.

Open it if it happens again.

Changed in gloobus-preview:
status: Confirmed → Fix Committed
alfredo (alf10722006) on 2010-01-10
Changed in gloobus:
assignee: BadChoice (guitarboy000) → alfredo (alf10722006)
BadChoice (guitarboy000) on 2010-01-11
Changed in gloobus:
status: In Progress → Fix Committed
alfredo (alf10722006) on 2010-01-31
Changed in gloobus:
status: Fix Committed → Fix Released
status: Fix Released → Fix Committed
Changed in gloobus-preview:
status: Fix Committed → In Progress
status: In Progress → Fix Committed
status: Fix Committed → Fix Released
dlskier (dlskier) wrote :

This is happening for me with version 0.4.5

With two monitors, text and pdf open up spanning both monitors in an awkward fashion.

Changed in gloobus-preview:
status: Fix Released → In Progress
Jeff (jdorenbush) wrote :

I have the same problem. I've tried opening a couple PDFs and text documents and the preview size is way too big -- it takes up the whole screen practically. Resizing it and then trying to re-open the document causes it to revert back to the large window size.

Balló György (ballogy) on 2015-01-06
Changed in gloobus-preview:
milestone: none → 0.5.1
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers