Loss of files in One

Bug #492815 reported by Lena89 on 2009-12-05
26
This bug affects 5 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Ubuntu One Client
High
Joshua Hoover

Bug Description

Hello,

I used Ubuntu One to backup files before formatting my computer. As far as I know the synchronization process terminated successfully, but now there are several (and you already suspect it: important) files missing.
As I reinstalled the operating systems on my computer I can't offer you any logs of this process.

Is there somebody who can check on the server-side if these files weren't uploaded successfully?
Thanks in advance,
Lena

Changed in ubuntuone-client:
status: New → Confirmed
status: Confirmed → New
assignee: nobody → Joshua Hoover (joshuahoover)
status: New → Triaged
Stuart Langridge (sil) on 2010-01-12
Changed in ubuntuone-client:
importance: Undecided → High
Nikolaus Waxweiler (madleser) wrote :

I also have problems with file loss, but here with the Mac OS X client (4.0 beta 1). I use the guest account on a Mac (10.7) in university, where I sync my files to. When I'm done, I disconnect the client and log out of the guest account, which deletes all files from it. When I get home to my 12.10 x86_64 workstation, all shared files are gone. This happens randomly, sometimes everything is lost, sometimes not.

Roberto Alsina (ralsina) wrote :

@Nikolaus Waxweiler thanks for the comment, it helps us improve our service.

Ubuntu One is a file sync service. When you logout of the guest account, everything is deleted. If Ubuntu One stops before the files are deleted, then it will synchronize those deletions, and you will end up losing the files on all your devices.

Ubuntu One is not meant for your usecase. For temporary usage, it's a better idea to use the Ubuntu One website instead.

Nikolaus Waxweiler (madleser) wrote :

Thanks for the clarification, too bad about the use case... but I wonder, you wrote that "If Ubuntu One stops before the files are deleted, then it will synchronize those deletions" -- how can the client delete the files online when it's disconnected or exited?! I tried it again today, the deletions are synchronized when I disconnect the client and even when I exit it (ctrl+click on the dock icon -> "Exit"), which puzzles me.

I might also be worth it to add a check to the client to see if it's run in the guest account, and then not synchronize deletions on logout. Unintentional file loss (from the perspective of a user, who might not know what's happening in the background) makes for a very nasty surprise.

Roberto Alsina (ralsina) wrote :

Sorry, I meant "stops AFTER the files are deleted"!

I don't see how we would know if the deletions are caused by logout or not. It's strange that the files are deleted before all the processes started from the guest account are deleted, too.

Damien (youpla-b) wrote :

Just putting an idea here:

What about adding a "lock" option? Basically all operations would be permitted (add, modify, move, rename) except delete.
In U1 application this would be shown as a second tick-box in the folder view, in a column named "allow deletion".
The default behaviour (box ticked or unticked) would be configured during U1 initial setup. This would be useful for all user, especially when dealing with "ultra-critical folders" that you would hate to see disappear by user mistake.

For the OP: you might want to look at u1ftp while people are working on your bug. Because it's ftp there is no synchronisation nor instant opening/modification but it would help on your usage. It's not as easy to use as U1 but it's a start I guess.

Damien (youpla-b) wrote :

edit: my last comment was for Nikolaus obviously.

To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers