update-notifier should not start update-manager without user input

Bug #383728 reported by Peter Berry on 2009-06-04
12
This bug affects 2 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
update-notifier (Ubuntu)
Undecided
Unassigned

Bug Description

Binary package hint: update-notifier

Since upgrading to Jaunty, I've found that a while after logging in, if there are updates available, whatever I'm doing is usurped by an update-manager window, i.e. it steals focus. I didn't manually start update-manager so I think it must be being started by update-notifier. This seems to be corroborated by the fact that if I close update-manager, kill update-notifier and then start update-notifier again, update-manager starts. I don't even use update-manager, I use aptitude instead. So this behaviour is both annoying and unhelpful.

If this behaviour is intended, I would at least like the option to turn it off. It might be relevant that my window manager is xmonad - it might not steal focus under Metacity for all I know. But IMO automatically starting another program without user input is rude, unnecessary, and if the user uses a different update program, useless. (I like having update-notifier being in the notification area to tell me when updates are available, but I don't use it to actually do updates.)

Damiano Dallatana (damidalla) wrote :

Thank you for taking the time to report this bug and helping to make Ubuntu better. This particular bug has already been reported and is a duplicate of bug 332945, so it is being marked as such - while it does seem to be slightly unrelated, the discussion on that bug is not only about updates icon, but also about undesired update-manager starting. Please look at the other bug report to see if there is any missing information that you can provide, or to see if there is a workaround for the bug.
Additionally, any further discussion regarding the bug should occur in the other report. Feel free to continue to report any other bugs you may find.

Launchpad Janitor (janitor) wrote :

Status changed to 'Confirmed' because the bug affects multiple users.

Changed in update-notifier (Ubuntu):
status: New → Confirmed
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers