Make information clearer before upgrading

Bug #874889 reported by Thibault D on 2011-10-15
6
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
update-manager (Ubuntu)
Undecided
Unassigned

Bug Description

Before confirming my upgrade from 11.04 to 11.10, I get this information pop-up (see screenshot) :
"Do you want to start the upgrade ? xx installes packages are not maintained by Canonical anymore... blabla"

I am a simple user and I do not get what is important or not in this popup, as there is information everywhere :

- "xx installed packages are not maintained by Canonical anymore. You can always retrieve assistance from the community"
    > This is not a positive sentence. As a simple user, I will ask myself : "so what ? should I upgrade or not ? is there a risk for me ?"
    > we provide partial information,
- "xx packages will be installed, deleted or updated"
    > Is a simple user really interested by this ? If he wants more information, he can expand the "details" where there is exactly the same info.
- "You have to download a total of 708 M"
   > "M" or "Mo" ?
- "This dowload will take you 1 hour 29 minutes...."
   > Maybe Ubuntu could test the user connection before showing any estimation.

I think this popup should be redesigned totally : "what important message do we want to communicate to the user ?"

<https://wiki.ubuntu.com/ReleaseUpgrades#ready>: "Once the calculation has finished, the progress window should morph into a dialog summarizing what will happen ... The size should be rounded appropriately (e.g. '710 MB' or '1.2 GB') ... *If* any manually-installed software will conflict: 'This software conflicts and must be removed:' ... The time should be calculated based on how long the package indexes took to download..."

Thibault D (thibdrev) wrote :

I agree that this is an issue. I had an acquaintance of mine, also quite new to linux, calling me asking if would loose some important software because Canonical was not maintaining it any more.

Changed in update-manager (Ubuntu):
status: New → Confirmed
description: updated
Changed in update-manager (Ubuntu):
status: Confirmed → Triaged
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers

Bug attachments