Shows pinned packages as available to update

Bug #52158 reported by Santiago Erquicia on 2006-07-06
This bug report is a duplicate of:  Bug #13408: pinned packages appear as upgradeable. Edit Remove
8
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
update-manager (Ubuntu)
Medium
Unassigned

Bug Description

Binary package hint: update-manager

I have 6 packages pinned in order to avoid updating them (Synaptics shows them under "pinned" status).

Update Manager always appears on the notification area as if I had packages ready to update, but the reality is that they are not.

Onkar Shinde (onkarshinde) wrote :

Open the update manager and update its listing.

In my case it was first showing as updates available for two pinned packages. But when I updated the listing, the notification was gone.

Michael Vogt (mvo) on 2006-08-18
Changed in update-manager:
status: Unconfirmed → Confirmed
importance: Untriaged → Medium
Charles Perreault (muganor) wrote :

Well I pinned my kernel version (and all meta packages) to avoid having to recompile 10000 modules and removing bcm43xx with each 2.6.15-XX mini change, but update notifier / manager auto updated without considering them pinned. First time was annoying, now...

I will disable update-notifier for now, but the problem is not just a list update.

Sean Bridges (shizeon) wrote :

I am also seeing this issue same issue on Edgy. Have edgy kernel packaged pinned since I have compiled my own 2.6.20 kernel. All updates show in update-manager, even though they show as pinned in synaptic. Including screenshot if that helps.

Sean Bridges (shizeon) wrote :

disregard my comment. Incorrect in priority was the root cause of what I was seeing.. Sorry.

FernanAguero (fernan-ciudad) wrote :

I am seeing this exact same behaviour (Ubuntu Feisty, 7.04) but in my case
I have recompiled one package (screen), using the src .deb package, and following
all the recommendations to generate a new .deb package and installing this one, so that I can receive notifications about *updates* (i.e. new versions or bug fixes).

I needed to do this because I wanted screen compiled with certain configure args
that are not used to make the original ubuntu package.

However, apart from building the package with other configure arguments, the version
is the same. Nonetheless, update manager tells me that I have 1 update available:

screen
a terminal multiplexor with VT100/ANSI terminal emulation
From version 4.0.3-0.2ubuntu2 to 4.0.3-0.2ubuntu2

The two packages differ in size, however, so maybe update-manager is basing
its decision to notify on this?

Perhaps you can modify update-manager so that we can choose to omit notifications
of updates to the *exact same version*?

How to reproduce:

1. Uncomment the deb-src lines in /etc/apt/sources.list

2. Install all dependencies required to *build* <pakage-name>
sudo apt-get build-dep <package-name> (screen)

3. Get and unpack the sources
sudo apt-get source <package-name> (screen)

4. Edit one or more files in the src, apply a patch, etc.
    In my case, I just changed two lines in screen-4.0.3/debian/rules

--- screen-4.0.3/debian/rules.orig 2007-08-01 12:25:55.000000000 -0300
+++ screen-4.0.3/debian/rules 2007-08-01 12:26:04.000000000 -0300
@@ -27,8 +27,8 @@
                    --with-pty-mode=0620 \
                    --with-pty-group=${TTYGROUP} \
                    --enable-rxvt_osc \
- --with-sys-screenrc=/etc/screenrc
-# --enable-colors256
+ --with-sys-screenrc=/etc/screenrc \
+ --enable-colors256
        touch $@

 build: build-stamp

5. Recompile <package-name>
cd into the unpacked sources directory (screen-4.0.3) and run
sudo dpkg-buildpackage -rfakeroot -uc -b

6. Install the recompiled package
sudo dpkg -i <package name>.deb

7. Notice how update-manager stupidly tries to make you install the original
package over your customized package.

8. It's annoying, and if you forget to uncheck your customized packages can lead
to disaster if the packages are critical ...

aerickson (aerickson) wrote :

+1, I'm experiencing this due to configuration edits to netatalk that it's detecting (versions are identical). This is very annoying.

to be removed (liw) wrote :

I'll note that I can verify this on intrepid. Instructions:

* set up an intrepid system
* wait until there is a security update or other update
* create /etc/apt/preferences:

Package: base-files
Pin: release a=intrepid-updates
Pin-Priority. 10

* run update-manager, click on "Check"
* package is still offered to be updated

If I put the package in "hold" before running update-manager, it correctly lists the package in the possible updates, but "unticked", i.e., it won't be upgraded unless the user explicitly chooses it to be upgraded.

I don't seem to be able to find a way to get Synaptic tell me the package is pinned. Perhaps I've done some bad mistake in reproducing this?

To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers