Add way to close in the upgrade complete dialog

Bug #164192 reported by James Westby on 2007-11-20
22
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
update-manager (Ubuntu)
Wishlist
Unassigned

Bug Description

Binary package hint: update-notifier

Hi,

After upgrading I get the upgrade complete dialog, I close that
and then have to wait while update-notifier recalculates state
and things, and then more often than not tells me that there
are no upgrades (or at least has an empty list).

I would like a way to close the app when the update completes
(if not the default). If there are more updates then I will be informed
later. I don't like having to wait the few seconds to just click close.

Thanks,

James

Nanley Chery (nanoman) wrote :

Do you mean upgrade or update?

Changed in update-notifier:
status: New → Incomplete
wolfger (wolfger) wrote :

Over 5 months with no response. We are closing this bug report because it lacks the information we need to investigate the problem, as described in the previous comments. Please reopen it if you can give us the missing information, and don't hesitate to submit bug reports in the future. To reopen the bug report you can click on the current status, under the Status column, and change the Status back to "New". Thanks again!

Changed in update-notifier:
status: Incomplete → Invalid
James Westby (james-w) wrote :

Hi,

I missed the question, sorry for not responding. This is actually
for the update-manager package, so I changed it to that.

The original report was referring to an "update" I think, i.e. upgrading
within a release due to changes in -updates or similar.

Thanks,

James

Changed in update-notifier:
status: Invalid → New
Mackenzie Morgan (maco.m) wrote :

I'm confirming this. The update-manager doesn't need to show that there are no more updates. If an error causes there to still be updates, this is signified by the error dialog, and in that case, the main window can stay.

Changed in update-manager:
status: New → Confirmed
Michael Vogt (mvo) on 2008-09-26
Changed in update-manager:
importance: Undecided → Wishlist
status: Confirmed → Triaged
milestone: none → later
Markus Korn (thekorn) on 2008-09-26
Changed in update-manager:
milestone: later → none
status: Triaged → Confirmed
Michael Vogt (mvo) on 2008-09-26
Changed in update-manager:
status: Confirmed → Triaged
milestone: none → later
Adolfo Jayme (fitojb) wrote :

Since 12.10, update-manager does allow to click Close immediately after finishing updating the system.

Changed in update-manager (Ubuntu):
status: Triaged → Fix Released
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Duplicates of this bug

Other bug subscribers