Update Manager forgets user's selection if settings window is opened

Bug #1056098 reported by Mark
10
This bug affects 2 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
update-manager (Ubuntu)
Confirmed
Undecided
Unassigned

Bug Description

This issue applies to update-manager in both 11.10 and 12.04.

Steps to reproduce:
 - Start Update Manager
 - Spend several minutes reading descriptions of the various updates, selecting some and de-selecting others.
 - Click the Settings... button at the bottom of the window
 - Without changing any settings, click Cancel to close the settings window.
 - Update Manager forgets which packages you selected before and instead reloads the list of updates (maxing out CPU for several seconds), with all updates selected.

Update Manager does not need to reload/refresh the list of updates if no settings have changed.

Even if the user did change some settings, it could remember which updates were selected/unselected, and after reloading the list, make the initial selection state match what the user chose before. (As opposed to defaulting to having all updates checked.)

Revision history for this message
Launchpad Janitor (janitor) wrote :

Status changed to 'Confirmed' because the bug affects multiple users.

Changed in update-manager (Ubuntu):
status: New → Confirmed
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers