Ubuntu

Connecting a disconnected device deletes all files from ubuntu one account.

Reported by oshirowanen yoshigawa on 2012-12-11
14
This bug affects 3 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
ubuntuone-control-panel (Ubuntu)
Undecided
Unassigned

Bug Description

Connect a few devices to your ubuntuone account. Upload some files. Remove a device from the ubuntu one account. Delete the files from the removed devices ubuntu one folder. Reconnect the disconnected device. Your ubuntu one account will have all it's files deleted. This is a bug as far as I am concerned. Connecting a new device does not delete files from your ubuntu one account, so reconnecting a disconnected device should also not delete files from your ubuntu one account.

ProblemType: Bug
DistroRelease: Ubuntu 12.04
Package: ubuntuone-control-panel-qt 3.0.1-0ubuntu1
ProcVersionSignature: Ubuntu 3.2.0-30.48-generic 3.2.27
Uname: Linux 3.2.0-30-generic i686
ApportVersion: 2.0.1-0ubuntu13
Architecture: i386
Date: Tue Dec 11 10:53:00 2012
InstallationMedia: Ubuntu 12.04 LTS "Precise Pangolin" - Release i386 (20120423)
PackageArchitecture: all
ProcEnviron:
 LANGUAGE=en_GB:en
 TERM=xterm
 PATH=(custom, no user)
 LANG=en_GB.UTF-8
 SHELL=/bin/bash
SourcePackage: ubuntuone-control-panel
UpgradeStatus: No upgrade log present (probably fresh install)

Roman Yepishev (rye) wrote :

The files are deleted because there is a metadata in ~/.local/share/ubuntuone/syncdaemon which is kept even when local machine association is removed.
Technically "disconnecting" the service from the local machine is a simple removal of the token from the keyring and does not execute any method within Ubuntu One synchronization daemon itself.

So it's that a bug? Surly the metadata should be removed when a device is disconnected?

RaduStoica (radumstoica) wrote :

I also think that it makes sense to delete the metadata when disconnecting a device. I'd be quite annoyed if something like this would happen to me.

Launchpad Janitor (janitor) wrote :

Status changed to 'Confirmed' because the bug affects multiple users.

Changed in ubuntuone-control-panel (Ubuntu):
status: New → Confirmed
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers