Unchecking 'synchronize this folder' doesn't stop synchronization

Bug #703033 reported by Steve Magoun on 2011-01-14
14
This bug affects 2 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
ubuntuone-client (Ubuntu)
Medium
Roman Yepishev

Bug Description

Binary package hint: ubuntuone-client

Unchecking the "Synchronize this folder" checkbox in nautilus doesn't result in synchronization being stopped if you navigate away from the nautilus window before Ubuntu One is done unsynchronizing.

To reproduce:
1) Put a bunch of data (500MB in my case) in ~/Documents
2) Open a Nautilus window, navigate to the Documents folder
3) Check the "Synchronize this folder" checkbox inside the Nautilus window. Wait until synchronization completes, then verify that your files exist on one.ubuntu.com
4) Uncheck the 'Synchronize this folder' checkbox in Nautilus. A spinner will appear in the "Ubuntu One" area of the Nautilus window.
5) While the spinner is spinning, navigate away from the folder, e.g. by clicking the home directory link on the Nautilus side bar.
6) Navigate back to the Documents folder.

Actual results:
The 'Synchronize this folder' checkbox is checked.

Expected results:
The 'Synchronize this folder' checkbox is unchecked

This behavior is reproducible on my system.

ProblemType: Bug
DistroRelease: Ubuntu 10.10
Package: ubuntuone-client 1.4.5-0ubuntu1
ProcVersionSignature: Ubuntu 2.6.35-24.42-generic 2.6.35.8
Uname: Linux 2.6.35-24-generic x86_64
NonfreeKernelModules: nvidia
Architecture: amd64
Date: Fri Jan 14 14:19:18 2011
InstallationMedia: Ubuntu 10.10 "Maverick Meerkat" - Beta amd64 (20100901.1)
PackageArchitecture: all
ProcEnviron:
 PATH=(custom, user)
 LANG=en_US.utf8
 SHELL=/bin/bash
SourcePackage: ubuntuone-client
UbuntuOneSyncdaemonExceptionsLog:

UbuntuOneUserSyncdaemonConfig:
 [bandwidth_throttling]
 read_limit = 2097152
 write_limit = 2097152
 on = False

Steve Magoun (smagoun) wrote :
Roman Yepishev (rye) wrote :

This happens because the DeleteVolume is queued in the end of the metadata queue so it will actually remove the volume only after the complete synchronization of the metadata structure. Facundo, should DeleteVolume be somehow prioritized, jump to the head of the queue and drop all content/meta commands for the same volume id?

Changed in ubuntuone-client (Ubuntu):
assignee: nobody → Roman Yepishev (rye)
Changed in ubuntuone-client (Ubuntu):
status: New → Confirmed
importance: Undecided → Medium
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Duplicates of this bug

Other bug subscribers