stop synchro a folder manually

Bug #612059 reported by melodram on 2010-07-31
14
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Ubuntu One Client
Medium
Ubuntu One Client Engineering team
ubuntuone-client (Ubuntu)
Medium
Ubuntu One Client Engineering team

Bug Description

ubuntu 10.04

if you start synchronise a folder manually over the contexmenu and stop it, the folder stays on the web-account and you also cannot delete it from the website manually. there is no button for delete.

Javier López (javier-lopez) wrote :

Thank you for taking the time to report this bug and helping to make Ubuntu better. This bug did not have a package associated with it, which is important for ensuring that it gets looked at by the proper developers. You can learn more about finding the right package at https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Bugs/FindRightPackage. I have classified this bug as a bug in 'ubuntuone-client'. If you believe that I have chosen the wrong package, please change your bug to the correct one. Good luck on getting it fixed!

affects: ubuntu → ubuntuone-client (Ubuntu)
melodram (melodram) wrote :

if you want to stop syncronise over contexmenu, it is not possible before synchro is finished.

Duane Hinnen (duanedesign) wrote :

melodram.
When you right-click on a User Designated Folder is the option to stop synchronising there, just greyed out? Is the wrong option showing example: It says synchronise instead of unsyncronise on Ubuntu One. Or is the correct option available, it just does not appear to do anything when clicked?

thank you,
duanedesign

melodram (melodram) wrote :

no, on the webpage is just the option to "share"

melodram (melodram) wrote :

under "synced folders": just the possibility to "share"

under "folders": possibility to "share" and "delete"

Duane Hinnen (duanedesign) wrote :

melodram,
Thank you for clarifying your bug and helping to make Ubuntu better. I have included some worarounds for the issues you raised. these are not ideal, but will get the job done until a more user friendly approach is developed. Thank you for filing this bug and providing valuable user input.

As a workaround, to get the folder out of your cloud storage, you can do the following.

1. Open a Terminal (Applications > Accessories > Ubuntu One)

2. run the command:

   u1sdtool --list-folders

you will get a result like this:

   id=7f8491ab-f431-4c8a-91a7-f561faa05fca subscribed=True path=/home/duanedesign/Pictures

3. Take the id number and insert it into the following command:

   u1sdtool --delete-folder=7f8491ab-f431-4c8a-91a7-f561faa05fca

This will remove the folder from the server and not remove any data from your computer.

If you add a folder to your Ubuntu One account and wish to remove it before the sync is complete you can follow the directions on Roman's wiki page.
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/RomanYepishev/UbuntuOne/ClientControl#Accidentally%20added%20an%20UDF,%20how%20to%20remove%20it%20fast

thank you,
duanedesign

melodram (melodram) wrote :

thankyou

yes, i found that out recently and it works.

a possibility without terminal would be cool.

Changed in ubuntuone-client (Ubuntu):
status: New → Confirmed
importance: Undecided → Medium
Changed in ubuntuone-client:
status: New → Confirmed
importance: Undecided → Medium
assignee: nobody → Ubuntu One Desktop+ team (ubuntuone-desktop+)
Changed in ubuntuone-client (Ubuntu):
assignee: nobody → Ubuntu One Desktop+ team (ubuntuone-desktop+)
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Duplicates of this bug

Other bug subscribers