'enable' message presented in nautilus is confusing

Bug #598638 reported by Jeff Craig on 2010-06-25
32
This bug affects 6 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Ubuntu One Client
Medium
Rodrigo Moya
ubuntuone-client (Ubuntu)
Medium
Rodrigo Moya

Bug Description

Binary package hint: ubuntuone-client

When opening Nautilus to a folder not being shared in Ubuntu One, I'm presented with a message saying 'Ubuntu One disabled', and providing an 'enable' button. This is unclear, and it gave me the impression that Ubuntu One file syncing was disabled altogether, leading me to click the 'enable' button while on my home directory (thankfully, the client doesn't allow this).

The text would be more clear if it were something like 'Folder not shared on Ubuntu One', and the button should be 'share' or 'unshare' depending on state.

ProblemType: Bug
DistroRelease: Ubuntu 10.10
Package: ubuntuone-client-gnome 1.3.2-0ubuntu2
ProcVersionSignature: Ubuntu 2.6.35-5.6-generic 2.6.35-rc3
Uname: Linux 2.6.35-5-generic i686
Architecture: i386
Date: Fri Jun 25 13:05:29 2010
EcryptfsInUse: Yes
InstallationMedia: Ubuntu 9.10 "Karmic Koala" - Release i386 (20091028.5)
ProcEnviron:
 PATH=(custom, user)
 LANG=en_US.utf8
 SHELL=/bin/bash
SourcePackage: ubuntuone-client
UbuntuOneSyncdaemonExceptionsLog:

UbuntuOneUserSyncdaemonConfig:
 [bandwidth_throttling]
 read_limit = 2097152
 write_limit = 2097152
 on = False

Related branches

Jeff Craig (foxxtrot) wrote :
Alumni (les-sion) wrote :

I agree with you that this behavior is annoying. The Ubuntu One bar should not show up in any folder on nautilus and the option of keeping folders in sync should be rather available in the File menu.

Jeff Craig (foxxtrot) wrote :

Note, the suggested language above should say 'synced' not 'shared'.

Ken VanDine (ken-vandine) wrote :

I agree, it is very confusing. I accidentally synced my ~/Downloads folder... huge and full of throw away stuff, not worth syncing.

Joshua Hoover (joshuahoover) wrote :

John Lea is coming up with new copy for this to make it less confusing. Rodrigo will make the change once it's ready.

Changed in ubuntuone-client:
status: New → Triaged
importance: Undecided → Medium
assignee: nobody → Rodrigo Moya (rodrigo-moya)
Changed in ubuntuone-client (Ubuntu):
status: New → Triaged
importance: Undecided → Medium
assignee: nobody → Rodrigo Moya (rodrigo-moya)

I am not convinced that having new 'copy' on the button label is sufficient. It's pretty in-your-face marketing for Ubuntu One file sharing which goes further than previous releases have. Yes I could choose not to use Ubuntu One, but jeez that bar is gonna remind me of that decision every single time I open my file browser. That's going to get old pretty quick! It's a big fat waste of vertical space.

It's also pretty annoying to accidentally smack that button when you're in (for example) /home/alan/Dropbox where you might have this much data:-

alan@revo:~$ du -hs Dropbox/
3.5G Dropbox/

Instant overage on Ubuntu One, (well, I say "instant" :) ) I pressed it by accident and had one of those "Oh my god I've done something irreversible" moments which gave me that sinking feeling that I'd not be able to undo this easily (much the same feeling as doing an rm on something important).

Can we please make it easy to disable the entire bar, and furthermore provide a simple facility to undo the button press - and no, running "u1sdtool --foo-bar-baz" is not an option :)

Roman Yepishev (rye) wrote :

Is it possible for us to have a "Close" button on that bar which triggers a message "Hide the bar in folders not synced to Ubuntu One"?

I understand we need to get Ubuntu One more visible but personally I perfectly know what folders I want to sync and I don't really want this bar to appear anywhere else.

We may also want to have some "Information" button that will finally tell the user what Ubuntu One really, why it is disabled and what it is doing in their nautilus.

Matthew Gregg (mcg) wrote :

The wording is confusing, I at first thought U1 was disabled, BUT please don't waste my nautilus/screen real estate with this "bar" on every single nautilus window.

Rodrigo Moya (rodrigo-moya) wrote :

A better wording is now used in u1-client 1.3.4, so please reopen the bug if you think it's not correct yet

Changed in ubuntuone-client:
status: Triaged → Fix Released
Changed in ubuntuone-client (Ubuntu):
status: Triaged → Fix Released
John Lea (johnlea) wrote :

Copy updated in the spec, see http://use-case-mapper.canonical.com/specifications/0AU5sFuLRpCpBZGZra2pqY2pfMjY1ZjRodG5nZDg.

Regarding Roman's comment, we need to implement use case 2.16 but unfortunately this will have to wait until 11.04. See http://use-case-mapper.canonical.com/specifications/0AU5sFuLRpCpBZGZra2pqY2pfMjY1ZjRodG5nZDg/use_cases/2_16 for further details.

To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers

Related blueprints