[SUGGESTION] UI lock during upgrade

Bug #1674661 reported by Jeb E. on 2017-03-21
6
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
GNOME Shell
Confirmed
High
Release Upgrader
Undecided
auto-ubuntu-core-reviews
Unity
New
Undecided
Unassigned
ubuntu-release-upgrader (Ubuntu)
Undecided
Unassigned

Bug Description

As a long-time Ubuntu fan and proponent, I have always thought this wouldn't be an issue anymore, but it apparently is: The OS and GUI are active and appear to be visibly "working" to most people during a major system upgrade, and there are no major warnings presented to the user *not* to use his or her PC while in this major upgrade process.

This, as I was getting to, is a problem that needs to be addressed and therefore fixed.

Reason being:
When major system components and apps are being upgraded while the user is still in full (UI) control of his or her PC, the user is prone to opening the wrong programs at the wrong time, rebooting or shutting down the PC unnecessarily, unintentionally breaking his or her system(s).
Furthermore, opening a wrong program at the wrong time or attempting to change settings can cause issues during the upgrade, unwanted program access and file access locks (either locks the user or locks the upgrader package), all which can lead to dpkg errors, apt-get problems, aptitude crashes, and (most importantly) broken systems.

I'm proposing the Ubuntu development team devise a way for "ubuntu-release-upgrader" to put a lock on the "Ubuntu-Desktop" UI , desktop manager, and window manager during the upgrade process to prevent the user from accidentally causing an upgrade malfunction.

Michał Sawicz (saviq) on 2017-03-28
no longer affects: unity8
Jeb E. (jebeld17) on 2018-02-18
Changed in ubuntu-release-upgrader:
status: New → Confirmed
Changed in ubuntu-release-upgrader (Ubuntu):
status: New → Confirmed
Changed in gnome-shell:
importance: Unknown → High
status: Unknown → Confirmed
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers

Remote bug watches

Bug watches keep track of this bug in other bug trackers.