upgrade option should preserve passwd entries for any accounts with home directories

Bug #763075 reported by Šimánek on 2011-04-16
18
This bug affects 4 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
ubiquity (Ubuntu)
High
Unassigned

Bug Description

Binary package hint: ubiquity

Just upgraded from Ubuntu 10.10 to 11.04 Beta 2 from a burned disc. I selected the "Upgrade" option. During the installation process I was prompted to select my time zone, create a new user account and name my system. Suspicious of this, I created a user account with a different name. The installation proceeded. Toward the end of the install it tried to put my old, installed software back, but after running through every application I was told that none of them could be installed.

Once the install was finished and the new system rebooted, the only user account that existed was the new one that I created during the "upgrade" process. Fortunately my old user folder still existed in the /home. However, I'm not sure if the "upgrade" process would have overwritten/deleted all of the files and preferences if I had used my same user name during the upgrade process.

Evan (ev) on 2011-04-18
summary: - Upgrade process creates new user account, deletes all of my installed
- software
+ upgrade option should preserve passwd entries for any accounts with home
+ directories
Changed in ubiquity (Ubuntu):
assignee: nobody → Evan Dandrea (ev)
importance: Undecided → High
Evan (ev) on 2011-04-21
Changed in ubiquity (Ubuntu):
milestone: none → ubuntu-11.10
Changed in ubiquity (Ubuntu):
status: New → Confirmed
Evan (ev) on 2012-03-15
Changed in ubiquity (Ubuntu):
assignee: Evan Dandrea (ev) → nobody
milestone: ubuntu-11.10 → none
tags: added: ubi-upgrade
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers