Partitioner used in the installer should offer automatic options again after removing partitions

Bug #52808 reported by Andres G. Aragoneses on 2006-07-12
10
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Baltix
Undecided
Unassigned
ubiquity (Ubuntu)
Wishlist
Unassigned

Bug Description

I was installing Dapper on a PC with Windows(1 partition)+OpenSUSE(3 partitions). I wanted to install Ubuntu in the space that were occupied by OpenSUSE but I didn't want to mess with partition creation so I made the following:

1. Begin installation.
2. The partition options offered where:
a) Delete completely the hard disk.
b) Manual partitioning.
3. Selected 2.b).
4. In the partitioner, deleted all OpenSUSE partitions.
5. Applied the changes.
6. Closed the installer.
7. Opened again the installer.
8. Now the options were:
a) Delete completely the hard disk.
b) Use the extra space.
9. I selected 8.b).

The feature request would be to create a new step between 5 and 6 (5.5?) that let you use the extra space created (after deleting partitions) without closing and reopening the installation program.

Carthik Sharma (carthik) wrote :

Thank you for the bug report. The developers will look into implementing the requested feature.

Changed in ubiquity:
importance: Untriaged → Wishlist
status: Unconfirmed → Confirmed
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers