installer has a misleading option which formats entire hdd

Bug #1414201 reported by varad kulkarni on 2015-01-23
6
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
ubiquity (Ubuntu)
Undecided
Unassigned

Bug Description

I had 13.04 desktop and wanted to upgrade to Studio 14.04.1. I booted using the live USB. The installer detected 13.04 and provided the option to "Erase 13.04 and install". This led me to believe that my Windows 8.1 and two more NTFS partitions will remain untouched and ONLY 13.04 will be erased. However, the installer failed saying "couldn't install grub on /target" and then a bug report window popped up which wouldn't close.

When I rebooted, the BIOS couldn't detect any bootable device. I booted using the live usb again only to find out that the entire HDD was formatted by the installer. All my 1TB worth of data is lost.

This is a Samsung laptop with UEFI boot. Now I can only boot with the live USB since the installer fails to write any MBR. The installer wiped out my recovery parition as well - I can't recover my Windows 8.1 installation.

Why doesn't the installer specifically confirm whether it should wipe my other partitions? Why isn't there an option to backup the current partition table so that the recovery tools can attempt to recover the data?

Now I won't trust any installer to be "intelligent" enough to carry out the installation automatically.

To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers