If prompting to remove reverse-dependencies of a Complete Removal, should ask whether to Remove or Completely Remove them

Bug #1032511 reported by Robin
12
This bug affects 2 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
synaptic (Ubuntu)
Undecided
Unassigned

Bug Description

Operating System: Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin
Used Version of Synaptic: 0.75.9ubuntu1

Describtion:
If one tries to remove a package with configuration files, the package and the config file of the selected package will be removed correctly. Some packages of larger programms are subdivided in more than one package. If one tries to delete this program with configuration files, only the selected package of the programm will be removed with his config files. But the packages, which form part of the program to, and which are supposed by synaptic to remove them, won't be remove with there configuration files.

Just an example with two dummy packages:

dmy1, dmy2 are part of the same program and are used only by this program

dmy1 «Selcted by the user, who wish to remove the whole program with configuaration files» → Removed with config files
dmy2 «Proposed by Synaptic for removing» → Removed, but config files remain on the system

I think it's clear what I expect to happen:

I expect Synaptic to show a dialog, asking the user whether he wants to remove the corresponding packages with configuration files or not.

Revision history for this message
Launchpad Janitor (janitor) wrote :

Status changed to 'Confirmed' because the bug affects multiple users.

Changed in synaptic (Ubuntu):
status: New → Confirmed
Revision history for this message
dg1727 (dg1727) wrote :

In the original bug reporter's example, dmy2 depends on dmy1. That is, dmy2 is a reverse dependency of dmy1.

summary: - Synaptic don't removes all configuration files correctly
+ If prompting to remove reverse-dependencies of a Complete Removal,
+ should ask whether to Remove or Completely Remove them
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers