Removing a repository does not propose to downgrade/remove its packages

Bug #625628 reported by YannUbuntu on 2010-08-28
66
This bug affects 13 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
software-properties (Ubuntu)
Low
Unassigned

Bug Description

Currently, when removing a repository :
- packages remain upgraded
- the repository's new packages remain installed

which can lead to misunderstanding, as many people think removing a repository will restore software versions to previous state.

<https://wiki.ubuntu.com/SoftwareAndUpdatesSettings>: "If any software is installed from that channel, a “Remove Channel” alert should appear, with primary text ‘This computer has software installed from “{Display Name of Channel}”. Do you want to remove that software too?’ This should be followed by a list of the installed items, each with a menu containing “Leave installed” (the default), “Downgrade” (only if this is possible), and “Remove”."

Vallery Lancey (muscovy) on 2010-08-28
Changed in software-center (Ubuntu):
status: New → Confirmed
papukaija (papukaija) on 2010-08-31
tags: added: wishlist
YannUbuntu (yannubuntu) wrote :

For information, this wishlist has already been voted 260 times on Brainstorm : http://brainstorm.ubuntu.com/idea/25685/

Currently, adding and removing software sources is managed by Software Sources. Maybe it should be integrated there?
A second option would be to do this in software-center once adding and removing software sources is integrated in there.

@mpt, suggestions?

Matthew Paul Thomas (mpt) wrote :

If you can view individual sources in USC, you should be able to add them and remove them there too. However, I don't know yet whether that would mean removing those settings from Software Sources. *Maybe* they should be in both places. If so, then removing a source should be something handled by aptdaemon, presenting an interface for you to specify which packages you want to downgrade or remove. Maybe aptdaemon is the right place for that regardless.

YannUbuntu (yannubuntu) wrote :

For information, the "ppa-purge" package allows to remove a PPA and downgrade its packages.

This could easily be re-used into the Software Center to solve this bug !

Changed in software-center (Ubuntu):
assignee: nobody → Matthew Paul Thomas (mpt)
importance: Undecided → Low
affects: software-center (Ubuntu) → software-properties (Ubuntu)
Changed in software-properties (Ubuntu):
status: Confirmed → In Progress
Matthew Paul Thomas (mpt) wrote :

I've updated the specification to include a design for this feature. <https://wiki.ubuntu.com/SoftwareAndUpdatesSettings?action=diff&rev2=19&rev1=18>

Changed in software-properties (Ubuntu):
assignee: Matthew Paul Thomas (mpt) → nobody
status: In Progress → Triaged
description: updated
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers