Terminal does not close after shell exits

Bug #714682 reported by srd on 2011-02-07
8
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
rxvt-unicode (Ubuntu)
Undecided
Ryan Kavanagh

Bug Description

Binary package hint: rxvt-unicode

After the shell within urxvt is terminated (tested by exiting with ^D and the 'exit' command), the terminal window remains open. The urxvt process is still present (status S and not doing much of anything). Clicking on the 'close' widget results in the terminal window closing and the process terminating.

Tested with both zsh and bash as shells, using rxvt-unicode-lite.

ProblemType: Bug
DistroRelease: Ubuntu 11.04
Package: rxvt-unicode-lite 9.09-3
ProcVersionSignature: Ubuntu 2.6.38-2.29-generic 2.6.38-rc3
Uname: Linux 2.6.38-2-generic x86_64
Architecture: amd64
Date: Mon Feb 7 17:06:52 2011
EcryptfsInUse: Yes
InstallationMedia: Xubuntu 11.04 "Natty Narwhal" - Alpha amd64 (20101201.2)
SourcePackage: rxvt-unicode

srd (sr-gimp) wrote :
Ryan Kavanagh (ryanakca) wrote :

Hi,
Thanks for the bug report.

Can you please confirm that you do not have the "hold" option enabled. To quote the man page:

       -hold|+hold
           Turn on/off hold window after exit support. If enabled, urxvt will
           not immediately destroy its window when the program executed within
           it exits. Instead, it will wait till it is being killed or closed
           by the user; resource hold.

Thanks,
Ryan

Changed in rxvt-unicode (Ubuntu):
assignee: nobody → Ryan Kavanagh (ryanakca)
status: New → Incomplete
srd (sr-gimp) wrote :

Indeed that seems to be the case; launching urxvt with +hold works as expected.

It seems the compiled in default for that setting changed from 10.10 to 11.04. On my 10.10 systems urxvt works as if +hold were given without any explicit value set for this option. I'd urge to change the default back, as xterm and previous versions of urxvt behaved differently.

Thanks,
Sven

To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers