Authentication dialog has redundant text

Bug #961473 reported by Dario Bertini on 2012-03-21
6
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
policykit-1 (Ubuntu)
Undecided
Unassigned

Bug Description

this is the dialog:

title: Authenticate
bold text: To install or remove software, you need to authenticate.
text: An application is attempting to perform an action that requires privileges.
Authentication is required to perform this action.

buttons: Cancel Authenticate

"Authenticate" is written 4 times, I think that the dialog could be simplified by removing the non-bold text

that is, by leaving only

title: Authenticate
bold text: To install or remove software, you need to authenticate.

buttons: Cancel Authenticate

ProblemType: Bug
DistroRelease: Ubuntu 12.04
Package: software-center 5.1.13.1
ProcVersionSignature: Ubuntu 3.2.0-19.31-generic 3.2.12
Uname: Linux 3.2.0-19-generic x86_64
NonfreeKernelModules: wl
ApportVersion: 1.94.1-0ubuntu2
Architecture: amd64
Date: Wed Mar 21 19:21:26 2012
InstallationMedia: Kubuntu 11.10 "Oneiric Ocelot" - Release amd64+mac (20111012)
PackageArchitecture: all
SourcePackage: software-center
UpgradeStatus: Upgraded to precise on 2012-03-17 (3 days ago)

Dario Bertini (berdario) wrote :
Gary Lasker (gary-lasker) wrote :

Hi Dario, and thanks for your report. I've assigned this one to the Ubuntu Software Center designer for review.

Thank you!

Changed in software-center (Ubuntu):
status: New → Confirmed
assignee: nobody → Matthew Paul Thomas (mpt)
Matthew Paul Thomas (mpt) wrote :

This is a general problem with PolicyKit dialogs, not just with the one Ubuntu Software Center invokes.

That secondary text should be removed -- or even better, made authentication-method-specific, e.g. "To continue, enter your password.".

affects: software-center (Ubuntu) → policykit-1 (Ubuntu)
Changed in policykit-1 (Ubuntu):
assignee: Matthew Paul Thomas (mpt) → nobody
status: Confirmed → Triaged
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers