Ubuntu

Ubuntu connects to wrong network after sleep

Reported by Jason Mansour on 2011-11-21
10
This bug affects 2 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
network-manager (Ubuntu)
Undecided
Unassigned

Bug Description

When coming back from sleep, the system tries to connect to a different WiFi network, although the previously used network is still available. Since I usually don't have credentials for the other networks in range, a window pops up, which is very annoying. I'd expect ubuntu/NetworkManager to try to connect to the previously used network first. I believe this was the default behavior before Oneric, but I'm not sure.

(I would guess gnome 2.xx used to coordinate going to sleep/waking up with NetworkManager, and this was removed/broken with the transition to Gnome 3 or Oneric. Now, NetworkManager just sees that the connection is lost, and does what it always does, and picks the next available network.)

ProblemType: Bug
DistroRelease: Ubuntu 11.10
Package: network-manager 0.9.1.90-0ubuntu5
ProcVersionSignature: Ubuntu 3.0.0-12.20-generic 3.0.4
Uname: Linux 3.0.0-12-generic i686
ApportVersion: 1.23-0ubuntu4
Architecture: i386
CRDA: Error: [Errno 2] Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
Date: Mon Nov 21 21:33:45 2011
IfupdownConfig:
 auto lo
 iface lo inet loopback
 iface wlan0 inet dhcp
     hwaddress ether 00:22:43:95:e5:b1
InstallationMedia: Ubuntu-Netbook-Remix 9.10 "Karmic Koala" - Release i386 (20091028.4)
IpRoute:
 default via 192.168.0.1 dev ra0 proto static
 169.254.0.0/16 dev ra0 scope link metric 1000
 192.168.0.0/24 dev ra0 proto kernel scope link src 192.168.0.104 metric 2
Keyfiles: Error: [Errno 2] Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
NetworkManager.state:
 [main]
 NetworkingEnabled=true
 WirelessEnabled=true
 WWANEnabled=true
ProcEnviron:
 PATH=(custom, user)
 LANG=de_DE.UTF-8
 SHELL=/bin/bash
SourcePackage: network-manager
UpgradeStatus: Upgraded to oneiric on 2011-10-13 (38 days ago)

Jason Mansour (jd-mansour) wrote :
Launchpad Janitor (janitor) wrote :

Status changed to 'Confirmed' because the bug affects multiple users.

Changed in network-manager (Ubuntu):
status: New → Confirmed
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers