network-manager-pptp multiuser issues

Bug #257767 reported by Petr Stehlik on 2008-08-13
2
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
network-manager-pptp (Ubuntu)
Undecided
Unassigned

Bug Description

Binary package hint: network-manager-pptp

Ubuntu version 8.04.1, Release: 8.04
network-manager-pptp version 0.6.5+svnhead2574-0ubuntu1

There are two problem when using this plugin on a machine shared by several users (a family computer, for example):

1) when there are multiple users logged in then all of them see the list of VPN connections created by the user who logged in first. Example: users A, B. User 'A' defines VPN_A1 and VPN_A2. User 'B' defines VPN_B. When user 'A' logs in first and then (using the quick user switch) user 'B' logs in then the B can see (and use) just VPN_A1 and VPN_A2, not his/her VPN_B connection. Similarly, when user 'B' logs in first and then the 'A' logs in then they see just VPN_B. This is perhaps even a security issue...

I would expect the ConsoleKit or Network Manager (or whatever else is in charge when users are switching the desktop) would reset/reload the VPN connections list upon switching the console users. In the current state user 'B' needs to force user 'A' to log out and then relogin him/herself in order to be able to use his/her VPN_B connection.

2) When user tries to create a VPN connection under a name that is already used by another user for his/her connection then nothing happens. No error or warning sign - the connection is simply not saved and gets lost. This can be quite irritating. Example: user 'A' creates VPN connection named "office". Then user 'B' tries to create her own VPN connection and happens to use the same name "office". After going through the setup wizard and defining everything it seems to be saved but it's actually lost and you have no idea why.

I would expect either a warning/error message or ideally the connections would be prefixed by user names automagically when saving so "A_office" and "B_office" would not clash.

My current workaround is to add the VPN connections of user 'B' under 'A' login and vice-versa. Not smart, not easy to set up and manage and certainly not security friendly.

Thanks for considering this.

To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers