Drive Icon disappears before the "Writing to media" dialog appears

Bug #836130 reported by Alessandro Salomone on 2011-08-28
6
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
nautilus (Ubuntu)
Low
Unassigned

Bug Description

When I right-click the desktop icon of my USB drive and choose the "Safely Remove Drive" context menu item, the icon immediately disappears from the desktop. If the system was still writing some data to the device, a dialog appears and tells to wait before removing the drive.
Unfortunately, the dialog appears AFTER the icon has disappeared on the desktop: when my system is overloaded it may take seconds before the dialog appears. When the user does not see the icon on the desktop anymore, he believes the drive was unmounted. It happened to me that I removed my usb stick before the volume was actually unmounted.
The dialog should be displayed before the icon disappears to make sure the user knows he has to wait.

ProblemType: Bug
DistroRelease: Ubuntu 11.04
Package: nautilus 1:2.32.2.1-0ubuntu13
ProcVersionSignature: Ubuntu 2.6.38-11.48-generic 2.6.38.8
Uname: Linux 2.6.38-11-generic i686
NonfreeKernelModules: nvidia
Architecture: i386
Date: Sun Aug 28 18:08:26 2011
InstallationMedia: Ubuntu 11.04 "Natty Narwhal" - Beta i386 (20110413)
ProcEnviron:
 LANGUAGE=en_US:en
 PATH=(custom, user)
 LANG=en_US.UTF-8
 SHELL=/bin/bash
SourcePackage: nautilus
UpgradeStatus: No upgrade log present (probably fresh install)

Sebastien Bacher (seb128) wrote :

Thank you for your bug report

Changed in nautilus (Ubuntu):
importance: Undecided → Low
status: New → Confirmed
Sebastien Bacher (seb128) wrote :

The bug is old and Ubuntu changed quite a lot since, there has also been no activity here nor similar reports. Closing since we believe the issue as described is deprecated but feel free to file a new report if you still have problems in recent Ubuntu versions.

Changed in nautilus (Ubuntu):
status: Confirmed → Invalid
no longer affects: nautilus
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers