Moving items to trash from mounted usb-key doesn't work as expected

Bug #24541 reported by Lakin Wecker on 2005-10-24
10
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
nautilus (Ubuntu)
Medium
Sebastien Bacher

Bug Description

I mounted my usb-key and was browsing it. I found some files on it, which I
didn't want anymore. So I right click on them and say: "Move to trash". My
trash icon now displays that it has something in it. I'm done with my usbkey, so
I unmount it.

I then remember that I moved some stuff into the trashcan from the usb-key, so I
go to empty it. Surprise! Nothing is in my trash can?!? How can this be? I
just moved it there.

Thankfully I have some understanding of how the trash can works, so I put my
usb-key in it and mount it again. Whaddya know? The items are now in the trash.

This is completely counterintuitive. If I "Move the items" to the trash can,
shouldn't they _stay_ there? I can see a new user being utterly confused, and
somewhat scared when items that she puts in the trash are no longer there, and
then subsequently at a later date, they re-appear in the trash?

Sebastien Bacher (seb128) wrote :

Thanks for the bug report. This particular bug has already been reported into
our bug tracking system, but please feel free to report any further bugs you find.

This bug has been marked as a duplicate of bug 12893.

To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers

Remote bug watches

Bug watches keep track of this bug in other bug trackers.