Can't Delete Volume Warning provides confusing instructions

Bug #18609 reported by MichaelIhde on 2005-07-03
12
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Nautilus
Confirmed
Unknown
nautilus (Ubuntu)
Low
Ubuntu Desktop Bugs

Bug Description

Steps to recreate:
  * Add Trash Icon to desktop
  * Create an FTP volume
  * Drag FTP volume icon into trash

What happens:
  * Warning pops up
     "You cannot delete a volume icon. If you want to eject the volume, please
use Eject in the right-click menu of the volume"
  * Right click on FTP volume shows no Eject (only Unmount Volume)

What should happen (IMHO):
  * (OK) The dialog and menu should be consistant
  * (BETTER) The dialog and the menu are consistant in using "Disconnect" for
all remote volumes and "Eject" for all local disks
  * (BETTER) Disconnect without a message
  * (BEST) Dragging a volume to the trash displays an info message saying
something to the effect
     "You cannot delete this folder. Would you like to disconnect from the server?"

Also, I find that the using the term "volume icon" is confusing for most
non-geeks as "volume" is something you turn up (to 11!); not a partition, remote
mount, etc.

I realize that the default Ubuntu setup does not contain a Trash icon on the
desktop, so this isn't a major problem. Furthermore, this problem does not
occur when dragging to the Trash panel applet (default for Ubuntu). Actually,
nothing happens with the panel applet. This is okay, but a dialog should
probably pop up to prevent frustration.

DISCLAMIER:All opinions may be wrong :)

~Michael

Corey Burger (corey.burger) wrote :

This has already been filed and much discussed upstream at:
http://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=115763

MichaelIhde (mike-ihde) wrote :

Corey,

Thanks for finding the duplicate, my search did not find that bug, sorry.

I agree that the two bugs are the same in some regards, but I noticed that the
primary reason I filed the bug was not dicussed in the previous bug. The
specific problem I was refering to was the inconsistancy of the warning dialog
and the available options found in the context menu. The main reason I posted
this bug is that a friend of mine, who is not technically a power user, was
trying to get rid of an FTP folder and couldn't find the "Eject" menu item when
asked to do so. Cleary, he did not realize the non-obvious fact that Unmount
and Eject were synonyms, even though that is common for the rest of us.

In my opinion this could be quickly, and easily changed in the natulius "po"
files, to bring consistancy to the desktop. I suggest reopening this bug, and
then calling it fixed when the dialogs are made consistent; thus leaving the
more debateable topic to the other bug. I also realize this should have been
filed under nautilus, and have thus changed it.

For example, in change en_GB.po:1330

""If you want to eject the volume, please use Eject in the right-click menu of "
"the volume."

to

""If you want to eject the volume, please use Unmount Volume in the right-click
menu of "
"the volume"

Does this make sense? Maybe we should reopen the bug.

Matt Zimmerman (mdz) on 2006-03-31
Changed in nautilus:
status: Unconfirmed → Confirmed
Phil Bull (philbull) wrote :

Thanks for the report.

Is this still an issue for you?

Changed in nautilus:
assignee: nobody → desktop-bugs
status: Confirmed → Needs Info
Daniel Holbach (dholbach) wrote :

As described in the previous comments, your report lacks the information we need to investigate the problem further. We'll close this report for now - please reopen it if you can give us the missing information.

Changed in nautilus:
status: Needs Info → Rejected
Sitsofe Wheeler (sitsofe) wrote :

Reopening and setting back to confirmed as duplicate Bug #3340 is alive and well in Feisty.

Changed in nautilus:
status: Rejected → Confirmed
Sebastien Bacher (seb128) wrote :

upstream bug

Changed in nautilus:
importance: Medium → Low
Changed in nautilus:
status: New → Unknown
Changed in nautilus:
status: Unknown → Confirmed
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers

Remote bug watches

Bug watches keep track of this bug in other bug trackers.