Monkeysphere prompts for logout during Oneric upgrade

Bug #882293 reported by Jezza on 2011-10-26
6
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
monkeysphere (Ubuntu)
Undecided
Unassigned

Bug Description

When updating from Natty to Oneric, I got a GUI dialoge box saying that monkeysphere wanted to re-authenticate, Do I want to do that Yes/No.
When I hit Yes, it showed the shell (terminal type text, full screen) for a instant & then went to a garbled login screen that was un useable.
I had to shut down as it was stuck, it wouldnt boot so I then booted off live CD and chroot into the broken upgrade, completed the upgrade over a few hrs & things are ok now.

I now have monkeysphere 0.35-2, am running 32 bit Ubuntu on a toshiba Portege M700

I would have expected monkeysphere to not prompt an action that would log you out in the middle of an upgrade. I would have also expected Monkeysphere to be more clear about how it was going to log out, as it only said Authenticate.
Had it said it will log out, then I would have clicked no and continued the install.

I had updated the system yesterday so would have had the current versions of the various packages.

Jezza (balingupjer) wrote :

I also did a backup of the system before the upgrade so I should be able to find out any more detials if required.

To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers