[users-admin] Unintentional editing settings of wrong user

Bug #564105 reported by Henning Moll on 2010-04-15
6
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
gnome-system-tools (Ubuntu)
Low
Unassigned

Bug Description

Binary package hint: gnome-system-tools

In Lucid:

1. In users-admin: Select a user different from your current user. If you need to create a new one, this one gets selected after creation.
2. If you now - while the different user is still selected - click on 'advanced settings' you will be able to edit the settings of the intended (!) user. Good, so far.
3. Now let's suppose, the user clicks on 'Manage Groups' first, maybe because he thinks that this would also offer user specific settings. Just in the moment when the Groups dialog pops up, the user selection in the main window moves 'silently' to the currently logged in user.
4. After closing the groups dialog, the user may now clickt on 'advanced settings'. It is likely, that he will not notice that he is editing his own settings. If he has bad luck, he removes the admin group...

Expected behaviour: The selection should stay constant and should only change on user request.

Description: Ubuntu lucid (development branch)
Release: 10.04
gnome-system-tools: 2.30.0-0ubuntu1

Can't confirm on it.

In my Lucid, when the Groups dialog pops up, the user selection in the main
window won't move 'silently' to the currently logged in user.

Do we need any additional operations to reproduce the problem?

On 15 April 2010 19:55, Henning Moll <email address hidden> wrote:

> Public bug reported:
>
> Binary package hint: gnome-system-tools
>
> In Lucid:
>
> 1. In users-admin: Select a user different from your current user. If you
> need to create a new one, this one gets selected after creation.
> 2. If you now - while the different user is still selected - click on
> 'advanced settings' you will be able to edit the settings of the intended
> (!) user. Good, so far.
> 3. Now let's suppose, the user clicks on 'Manage Groups' first, maybe
> because he thinks that this would also offer user specific settings. Just in
> the moment when the Groups dialog pops up, the user selection in the main
> window moves 'silently' to the currently logged in user.
> 4. After closing the groups dialog, the user may now clickt on 'advanced
> settings'. It is likely, that he will not notice that he is editing his own
> settings. If he has bad luck, he removes the admin group...
>
> Expected behaviour: The selection should stay constant and should only
> change on user request.
>
>
> Description: Ubuntu lucid (development branch)
> Release: 10.04
> gnome-system-tools: 2.30.0-0ubuntu1
>
> ** Affects: gnome-system-tools (Ubuntu)
> Importance: Undecided
> Status: New
>
> --
> [users-admin] Unintentional editing settings of wrong user
> https://bugs.launchpad.net/bugs/564105
> You received this bug notification because you are subscribed to gnome-
> system-tools in ubuntu.
>
> Status in “gnome-system-tools” package in Ubuntu: New
>
> Bug description:
> Binary package hint: gnome-system-tools
>
> In Lucid:
>
> 1. In users-admin: Select a user different from your current user. If you
> need to create a new one, this one gets selected after creation.
> 2. If you now - while the different user is still selected - click on
> 'advanced settings' you will be able to edit the settings of the intended
> (!) user. Good, so far.
> 3. Now let's suppose, the user clicks on 'Manage Groups' first, maybe
> because he thinks that this would also offer user specific settings. Just in
> the moment when the Groups dialog pops up, the user selection in the main
> window moves 'silently' to the currently logged in user.
> 4. After closing the groups dialog, the user may now clickt on 'advanced
> settings'. It is likely, that he will not notice that he is editing his own
> settings. If he has bad luck, he removes the admin group...
>
> Expected behaviour: The selection should stay constant and should only
> change on user request.
>
>
> Description: Ubuntu lucid (development branch)
> Release: 10.04
> gnome-system-tools: 2.30.0-0ubuntu1
>
>
>

Milan Bouchet-Valat (nalimilan) wrote :

I can confirm the bug, yes. That happens because we force updating the groups, which is a hack we need ATM. So that can't be fixed without a proper solution for the other bug.

But I really don't think that's a big deal. In every edit dialog the name of the selected user is written in bold, so I really think you'd notice. And you don't edit groups everyday.

Changed in gnome-system-tools (Ubuntu):
importance: Undecided → Low
status: New → Triaged
Henning Moll (drscott) wrote :

> In every edit dialog the name of the selected user is written in bold, so I really think you'd notice.
To be honest: It happend to me ;-)

Once i checked that the intended user has been selected i didn't care on that detail anymore. I think it is very likely that this happen to other users as well. They will not concentrate on details which they assume to stay constant. Sure, that is a mistake, but it's human ;-)

> And you don't edit groups everyday.
Correct. If you remove the 'admin right' it will be the last time you do so. ;-)

Le vendredi 16 avril 2010 à 18:17 +0000, Henning Moll a écrit :
> > And you don't edit groups everyday.
> Correct. If you remove the 'admin right' it will be the last time you do so. ;-)
Since Lucid, you can't revoke the last user's admin rights, and you get
a warning when you're about to remove your own admin rights.

Henning Moll (drscott) wrote :

Ok, so i agree that this bug is importance low.

To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers