Users and group manager should warn before making dangerous changes

Bug #157920 reported by Psychcf on 2007-10-27
2
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
GST
Confirmed
Undecided
Unassigned
gnome-system-tools (Ubuntu)
Wishlist
Unassigned

Bug Description

The users and group manager allows the user to make dangerous changes that will completely mess up their setup. The user and group manager should at least warn the user when they make a change that may destroy their set up.

Examples:
*User changes their home directory to a folder they do not have permissions to
*You can delete the root user
*Removing the current user from the administration group

Daniel T Chen (crimsun) on 2008-11-10
Changed in gnome-system-tools:
importance: Undecided → Wishlist
Milan Bouchet-Valat (nalimilan) wrote :

In 2.29.2 we hide root, and don't allow the last admin to be removed. If user is about to lose its own admin rights, we warn him. For home directory, there will be more improvements to come, like making user the owner of the dir.

Changed in gst:
status: New → Confirmed
Changed in gnome-system-tools (Ubuntu):
status: New → Triaged
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers