Selecting 'Switch User' allows anyone to shutdown machine with logged on users

Bug #633494 reported by Herbert Homolka on 2010-09-08
12
This bug affects 2 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
GNOME Screensaver
New
Undecided
Unassigned
One Hundred Papercuts
Undecided
Unassigned
gnome-screensaver (Ubuntu)
Undecided
Unassigned

Bug Description

I'm using Lucid 10.04 Desktop x86 and understand that a few releases ago, it was implemented that other users logged on could not shutdown the machine when other users are logged on but when the user has locked the screen (and other users are presented with the password they can select switch user and at the system login screen they can select shutdown or restart and the system won't ask for any other confirmation or other popup message.

Since this is happening when the screen is locked, it may be a problem with the Gnome Screensaver.

Since this does not adversely affect the experience of the average user, this is not a paper cut.

Changed in hundredpapercuts:
status: New → Invalid
Changed in gnome-screensaver (Ubuntu):
status: New → Confirmed
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers