[Gutsy] "lose changes in last x mins" confusing if the user has never saved

Bug #135182 reported by Aaron Whitehouse on 2007-08-28
2
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
gedit
Confirmed
Low
gedit (Ubuntu)
Wishlist
Ubuntu Desktop Bugs

Bug Description

Binary package hint: gedit

I am using Gutsy Tribe 5.

I like the new message warning the user how long it has been since they last saved the document. I think that it is very confusing, however, if they user has never saved at all.

Saying that the user will lose all changes in the last 30 minutes implies that there are other changes that will not be lost (prior to 30 mins ago).

The message should stay as it currently is for all documents that have been saved, but Untitled windows (and any windows where the user hasn't saved since opening the file) should read:
"All changes to this file will be lost"

Thank you for your bug report. I'm marking this as triaged and will forward upstream.

Changed in gedit:
assignee: nobody → desktop-bugs
importance: Undecided → Wishlist
status: New → Triaged
Changed in gedit:
status: Unknown → New
Changed in gedit:
status: New → Confirmed
Changed in gedit:
importance: Unknown → Low
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers

Remote bug watches

Bug watches keep track of this bug in other bug trackers.