Confusing, unnecessary "Do you want to close it" dialog

Bug #1539870 reported by Jani Uusitalo on 2016-01-30
6
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
geany (Ubuntu)
Undecided
Unassigned

Bug Description

Steps to reproduce:

0. Have two projects, A and B
1. Open project A in Geany, make no changes
2. Select Project > Recent Projects > Project B

(Reproduced on an up-to-date Xenial installation today.)

What happens:
A dialog pops up saying the previous project is open, and asks if I want to close it before proceeding.

What I expect to happen instead:
For Project B to open without the dialog. I've not made any changes to Project A so the dialog is blocking the switch unnecessarily. If I *had* made changes, I'd expect them to be saved implicitly at this point, or, failing that, to be prompted to *save* the changes before switching; not whether I want to close Project A (which I do).

Perhaps unrelatedly, the prompt title ("The 'Project A' project is open.") seems to be missing from Launchpad translations; only the question ("Do you want to close it before proceeding?") is translatable.

Jani Uusitalo (uusijani) on 2016-01-30
description: updated
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers