"Reload" in context menu discards unsaved changes

Bug #1129866 reported by Florian Echtler on 2013-02-19
6
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
evince (Ubuntu)
Undecided
Unassigned

Bug Description

1)
Description: Ubuntu 12.04.2 LTS
Release: 12.04

2)
evince:
  Installed: 3.4.0-0ubuntu1.4
  Candidate: 3.4.0-0ubuntu1.4

3)
When a document has unsaved annotations, triggering "reload" should ask if those changes should be saved.

4)
When creating annotations in a PDF document, accidentially hitting "reload" in the context menu will reload the document and discard all unsaved annotations without asking.

Nathaniel Robison (nrobison11) wrote :

I am not sure if this is actually a bug. When working with any other changes does it prompt you to save changes when reloading? If not this might be working as intended and be more of a feature request.

Florian Echtler (floe) wrote :

The only possible edit you can do to a document in evince is adding/editing annotations, so there are no other cases where this can happen. If you try to close a document with unsaved annotations, a dialog asking you to save first pops up.

In any case, this can certainly lead to unintentional loss of data (edits) by just one mis-click, so in my opinion, it is certainly a bug.

To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers