Empathy apply button does not make sense

Bug #465187 reported by Michael Wood on 2009-10-30
6
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Empathy
Confirmed
Medium
empathy (Ubuntu)
Low
Unassigned

Bug Description

Binary package hint: empathy

All Empathy's configuration dialogue boxes use "close" to save the settings, as is found throughout the GNOME desktop.

*** Apart from one ***

I see someone has realised most people will close the box to apply and put in a message:

"There are unsaved modifications regarding your xxx account.

You are about to close the window, which will discard
your changes. Are you sure you want to proceed?"

"Cancel or Discard ?!"

What does this even mean ? Cancel the procedure of closing or discard the procedure of closing ?

Then you have the accounts management dialogue, which is very cluttered with buttons and has an apply, cancel and close button.

It breaks all the user's previous understanding of using GNOME, it's unnecessarily confusing and I don't understand why it is needed.

Changed in empathy (Ubuntu):
importance: Undecided → Low
status: New → Triaged
Omer Akram (om26er) wrote :

in empathy its more clear as 'login'

Changed in empathy (Ubuntu):
status: Triaged → Fix Released
Michael Wood (x3n) wrote :

No this is still not correct.

1) Why do you need a login button on the account editor? that is outside it's purpose as an account editor.
2) "Cancel" is still not warranted

It's quite a textbook example on how to do the UI wrong, especially if you're using GNOME's textbook.

Changed in empathy (Ubuntu):
status: Fix Released → In Progress
Omer Akram (om26er) on 2010-03-23
Changed in empathy (Ubuntu):
status: In Progress → Triaged
Changed in empathy:
importance: Unknown → Medium
status: Unknown → Confirmed
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers

Remote bug watches

Bug watches keep track of this bug in other bug trackers.