Deleted synchronized database always come back with the next sync

Bug #474170 reported by Joshua Hoover on 2009-11-04
28
This bug affects 5 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
desktopcouch
Medium
Ubuntu One Client Engineering team
desktopcouch (Ubuntu)
Medium
Ubuntu One Client Engineering team

Bug Description

Steps to reproduce:

1) Synchronize CouchDB databases with cloud or across LAN
2) Delete a database using Futon
3) Synchronize CouchDB databases with cloud or across LAN again

RESULT: Deleted database is back
EXPECTED RESULT: Deleted database never comes back after future syncs

This is particularly problematic for users who have large CouchDB databases that they're trying to delete to save space.

Eric Casteleijn (thisfred) wrote :

See attached script for a temporary workaround: it will (permanently and irrevocably!) delete all documents in a specified database, if not the database itself.

Eric Casteleijn (thisfred) wrote :

After running that script, compaction will actually reclaim the diskspace occupied by the deleted documents.

I make it not delete design documents by default, changing that is left as an exercise for the reader. (hint: remove two lines ;)

Changed in desktopcouch:
milestone: none → 1.0
Eric Casteleijn (thisfred) wrote :

Setting to confirmed, since we haven't actually thought of a great way to solve this.

Changed in desktopcouch:
status: Triaged → Confirmed
Changed in desktopcouch (Ubuntu):
status: New → Confirmed
importance: Undecided → Medium
assignee: nobody → Eric Casteleijn (thisfred)
milestone: none → natty-alpha-1
Changed in desktopcouch:
milestone: 1.0 → none
Changed in desktopcouch (Ubuntu):
milestone: natty-alpha-1 → none
Eric Casteleijn (thisfred) wrote :

If we don't already have it, we should add API in desktopcouch to delete a database, that on deletion, adds the db name to a list of locally deleted dbs in the management database. The management database should not replicate these back.

We should offer UI to do deletion in a subsequent cycle.

It remains an open problem how to delete dbs completely from all of a user's machines *and* the server.

Changed in desktopcouch:
assignee: Eric Casteleijn (thisfred) → Ubuntu One Desktop+ team (ubuntuone-desktop+)
Changed in desktopcouch (Ubuntu):
assignee: Eric Casteleijn (thisfred) → Ubuntu One Desktop+ team (ubuntuone-desktop+)
JACQUELINE (ijdisabest) on 2015-01-30
Changed in desktopcouch:
status: Confirmed → Fix Released
Changed in desktopcouch (Ubuntu):
status: Confirmed → Fix Released
Colin Watson (cjwatson) on 2015-01-30
Changed in desktopcouch (Ubuntu):
status: Fix Released → Confirmed
Tom Haddon (mthaddon) on 2015-01-30
Changed in desktopcouch:
status: Fix Released → Confirmed
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers