Multiuser KDE Storage Medium Daemon Pops Up For Everyone

Bug #172388 reported by Victor B. Gonzalez on 2007-11-27
4
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Ubuntu
Undecided
Unassigned

Bug Description

I have several accounts on a single system. if any one account inserts any type of removable medium, the KDE storage medium daemon dialog (Open in new window, do nothing, etc)... pops up for everyone when it shouldn't. this becomes a major nuisance when 1 account may go about inserting up to several mediums up to several times each... basically, what happens is, when the next user switches to their account, they're greeted with several dialogs for mediums that may already be mounted or long gone. it is without a doubt a bug as every account feels seriously bugged by it.

the correct behaviour should be, if user A inserts medium M, only user A is asked to do something about it. Otherwise, if all users are alerted because user A does nothing about it, the dialog should be killed when any one user does do something about it. It is just a pain to see this dialog over and over and over again due to media that is already handled or long gone.

Victor B. Gonzalez (vbgunz) wrote :

Original report is in regards to Kubuntu 7.10.

Jonathan Thomas (echidnaman) wrote :

The applet for this is much improved in Kubuntu 8.10.

To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers