[sdk] key magnifier should be bigger in size and larger in font

Bug #1323852 reported by Bill Filler on 2014-05-27
6
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Ubuntu UX
High
Jouni Helminen
ubuntu-keyboard
Medium
Michael Sheldon
ubuntu-keyboard (Ubuntu)
Medium
Unassigned

Bug Description

the magnifier should be taller and display the letter in a larger font. currently it's hard to see it as it feels too close to finger. Look at iOS and Android to get some ideas.

Also we shouldn't use the key magnifier on the number layout but instead change the key to a selected (pressed) state as it looks quite bad currently

Related branches

lp:~michael-sheldon/ubuntu-keyboard/new-design
Merged into lp:ubuntu-keyboard at revision 225
PS Jenkins bot: Approve (continuous-integration) on 2014-09-18
Ubuntu Phablet Team: Pending requested 2014-09-16
Bill Filler (bfiller) on 2014-05-27
Changed in ubuntu-keyboard:
importance: Undecided → High
assignee: nobody → Michael Sheldon (michael-sheldon)
tags: added: rtm14
Changed in ubuntu-keyboard:
status: New → In Progress
Daniela Ferrai (dferrai) on 2014-06-24
Changed in ubuntu-ux:
assignee: nobody → Benjamin Keyser (bjkeyser)
summary: - key magnifier should be bigger in size and larger in font
+ [sdk] key magnifier should be bigger in size and larger in font
Changed in ubuntu-ux:
assignee: Benjamin Keyser (bjkeyser) → Giorgio Venturi (giorgio-venturi)
John Lea (johnlea) on 2014-07-21
Changed in ubuntu-ux:
importance: Undecided → High
status: New → Triaged
Bill Filler (bfiller) on 2014-07-31
Changed in ubuntu-keyboard (Ubuntu):
status: New → In Progress
importance: Undecided → Medium
Changed in ubuntu-keyboard:
importance: High → Medium
Changed in ubuntu-ux:
assignee: Giorgio Venturi (giorgio-venturi) → nobody
assignee: nobody → Daniela Ferrai (dferrai)
Changed in ubuntu-ux:
assignee: Daniela Ferrai (dferrai) → Jouni Helminen (jounihelminen)
Bill Filler (bfiller) on 2014-09-08
tags: added: touch-2014-09-25
Launchpad Janitor (janitor) wrote :

This bug was fixed in the package ubuntu-keyboard - 0.99.trunk.phablet2+14.10.20140918-0ubuntu1

---------------
ubuntu-keyboard (0.99.trunk.phablet2+14.10.20140918-0ubuntu1) utopic; urgency=low

  [ Michael Sheldon ]
  * Hide the settings option in the keyboard's language menu when the
    phone is locked. (LP: #1358224)
  * Implement new keyboard design (LP: #1323852)

  [ Ubuntu daily release ]
  * New rebuild forced
 -- Ubuntu daily release <email address hidden> Thu, 18 Sep 2014 15:26:35 +0000

Changed in ubuntu-keyboard (Ubuntu):
status: In Progress → Fix Released
Changed in ubuntu-keyboard:
status: In Progress → Fix Released
Changed in ubuntu-ux:
status: Triaged → Fix Released
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers