[sdk] Reorder design pattern

Bug #1263186 reported by Andrew Hayzen on 2013-12-20
6
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Ubuntu Music App
Medium
Andrew Hayzen
Ubuntu UX
Medium
Giorgio Venturi

Bug Description

I need clarification on the design pattern to implement reordering and make it compatible with the current swipeDelete in the UITK, the current two candidates are.

First
1) PressAndHold a list item, this enables reordering for *all* list items (a hint may appear or all the list items could wobble)
2) User can click and drag *any* list item to a new position
3) PressAndHold on *any* list item disables reordering

Second
1) PressAndHold a list item, this enables reordering for *that* list item (a hint may appear or all the list item could wobble)
2) User can click and drag *that* list item to the new position
3) On release or PressAndHold? disables reordering

Note, there will have to be a release between steps 1 and 2.

Related branches

lp:~ahayzen/music-app/reorder-support-001
Rejected for merging into lp:music-app/trusty
Ubuntu Phone Apps Jenkins Bot: Approve (continuous-integration) on 2014-05-04
Andrew Hayzen: Needs Fixing on 2014-04-16
Victor Thompson: Needs Fixing on 2014-03-08
lp:~ahayzen/music-app/listitem-actions-take-2
Merged into lp:music-app/trusty at revision 561
Victor Thompson: Approve on 2014-08-11
Ubuntu Phone Apps Jenkins Bot: Approve (continuous-integration) on 2014-08-11
Andrew Hayzen (ahayzen) wrote :

As a note for testing purposes, lp:~andrew-hayzen/music-app/reorder-support-001 (assuming the following patch has been run on the UITK lp:~andrew-hayzen/ubuntu-ui-toolkit/fix-swipe-delete-001) currently implements the second candidate stated in the bug description (with a hint and wobble on step 1 and onRelease selected in step 3).

Andrew Hayzen (ahayzen) on 2014-01-23
Changed in music-app:
status: New → In Progress
importance: Undecided → Medium
assignee: nobody → Andrew Hayzen (andrew-hayzen)
summary: - Reorder design pattern
+ [sdk] Reorder design pattern
Changed in ubuntu-ux:
assignee: nobody → Jouni Helminen (jounihelminen)
Changed in ubuntu-ux:
assignee: Jouni Helminen (jounihelminen) → Giorgio Venturi (giorgio-venturi)
status: New → Triaged
John Lea (johnlea) on 2014-07-21
Changed in ubuntu-ux:
status: Triaged → New
importance: Undecided → Medium
John Lea (johnlea) on 2014-07-21
Changed in ubuntu-ux:
status: New → Triaged
Victor Thompson (vthompson) wrote :

Can this be marked as Fix Released now that the ListItem Actions have landed?

Andrew Hayzen (ahayzen) wrote :

@Victor, I would say yes for now as it is basically the design that was suggested when we asked about reordering.

Changed in music-app:
status: In Progress → Fix Released
Changed in ubuntu-ux:
status: Triaged → Fix Released
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers