Option not to save screenshots to disk by default

Bug #348161 reported by Vadim Peretokin on 2009-03-24
18
This bug affects 2 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Shutter
Medium
Mario Kemper (Romario)

Bug Description

Need to have an option to not save screenshots to disk.

So when toggled, shutter wont save any of them to disk, and if you have an important one you'd like to preserve, you'd do file-> save.

Vadim Peretokin (vperetokin) wrote :

I have a feeling we should even has this option on by default. One, because it solves the need for picking a good default directory (home dir is not optimal, imho, but there are no other oens either), and two, just seems that most people don't care about the temp ones they take.

Maybe we should have a poll on this as it's just a default preference to please the majority.

Changed in shutter:
importance: Undecided → Medium
milestone: none → 0.85
status: New → Confirmed
Vadim Peretokin (vperetokin) wrote :

To add to this, we should *not* modify existing preferences - so people who had shutter before, should have the option to save to disk kept on.

The images need to be saved on disk anyway, because uploading, plugins etc. don't work without "real" files. We need at least save them in a temporary directory.
With this in mind you can set the temp directory as the default target directory and everything is fine. I don't see the point in adding an extra option here.

Yes, the temporary directory will exist, but it will be transparent for the
user. They couldn't care less where shutter saves it, so they shouldnt need
to set it.

We'll use ~/.data/shutter or something (see xdg specs) where to save it.

Hm, ok. But i think it is senseless to call an option "don't save to disk" and we save to disk anyway - even if this is a temp directory.
Maybe we can add an option that deletes all files in session when shutter is closed instead?

Vadim Peretokin (vperetokin) wrote :

No.

> But i think it is senseless to call an option "don't save to disk"

As far as the user sees.

> and we save to disk anyway - even if this is a temp directory.

They don't know / care about that, it's just a technical / behind-the-scenes
thing.

Vadim Peretokin (vperetokin) wrote :

Perhaps I should rephase it.

With this option enabled, a user takes a screenshot, uploads / emails to a
friend, closes tab, and forgets about it. The screenshot however should
still act normal - come back when shutter is restarted, be editable,
eligible for plugin effects.

And if the user needs to preserve it, they do so via file -> save.

The user however doesn't need to know that behind the scenes its being saved
somewhere. They don't care where or when, that's just background stuff that
shutter "does what it needs to do". So they shouldn't need to set the temp
directory and etc.

Does that help clear up the users view on this?

Ok, convinced ;-)
Thanks for your detailed explanations, Vadim.

Michael Kogan (michael-kogan) wrote :

Vadim, thanks for subscribing me to this. :-)

>With this option enabled, a user takes a screenshot, uploads / emails to a
friend, closes tab, and forgets about it.

I think you shouldn't even need to close the tab to delete the screenshot (except an option like "Save previous session" is enabled), just exit Shutter.

Vadim Peretokin (vperetokin) wrote :

>
> I think you shouldn't even need to close the tab to delete the
> screenshot (except an option like "Save previous session" is enabled),
> just exit Shutter.

Hm, this I don't quite agree with. Maybe a separate option not to remember
images in a session, but I see screenshots still being opened as you had
them after restarting shutter useful.

Michael Kogan (michael-kogan) wrote :

Of course, defining the option the other way around would do it, too. :-)

Changed in shutter:
milestone: 0.85 → 0.86
sdaau (sd-imi) wrote :

Hi, just wanted to add a comment to this:

I simply want to have a workflow where I hit PrnScr, and the fill screen capture opens in GIMP as a temporary file. The temporary file part is important for me, since after editing, I'd like to just press CTRL+S in Gimp and be asked about a filename (as opposed to pressing Shift+Ctrl+S, and then choosing a name)

I guess in the mean time, it wouldn't be too bad fixing the name for the screenshot image to say tmp.png (without %NNN) and then remembering to press Shift+Ctrl+S for those edits I'd like to save (as Ctrl+S would just overwrite the "tmp.png" file... Still, i'd rather like a "real" temp file in GIMP (though I don't know if that is possible) ...

Cheers !

sdaau (sd-imi) wrote :

Ouch,

> it wouldn't be too bad fixing the name for the screenshot image to say tmp.png (without %NNN)

The %NNN doesn't matter, currently Shutter will unfortunately add numbers to filename regardless of how the pattern is entered ... Please, at least maybe just an overwrite option?

Changed in shutter:
milestone: 0.86 → 0.87
Changed in shutter:
assignee: nobody → Mario Kemper (Romario) (mario-kemper)
status: Confirmed → In Progress
Changed in shutter:
status: In Progress → Fix Committed
Changed in shutter:
status: Fix Committed → Fix Released
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Duplicates of this bug

Other bug subscribers

Related questions