Shutter - Screenshot Tool

GScrot should ask for confirmation when deleting screenshots

Reported by Andrei on 2009-01-01
2
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Shutter
Low
Mario Kemper (Romario)

Bug Description

GScrot should ask for confirmation when deleting screenshots from disk. A user can accidentally hit the Delete button on the secondary toolbar and then there's no way to recover the image.

Maybe we should move the screenshot to trash instead of deleting it? In this case we won't need a confirmation dialog. Would be the same behavior as EyeofGnome.

What do you think?

Changed in gscrot:
assignee: nobody → mario-kemper
importance: Undecided → Low
milestone: none → 0.65
status: New → Confirmed
Andrei (googleguy) wrote :

Mario,

Personally, I use a simpler Desktop with Openbox, but I think for the majority of users moving to Trash would work. Some thoughts:

1. .Trash should probably be created if it doesn't exist, right? I doesn't exist on my box, at least.

2. I think this feature should be brought to the user's attention somehow. Maybe the tooltip for the button should say something like "Move to trash", not just "Delete file". In case a user hits Delete without reading the tooltip and starts tearing her hear out, maybe the status bar should say "Image XYZ moved to Trash"?

Changed in gscrot:
milestone: 0.65 → 0.70
status: Confirmed → Fix Committed
Changed in shutter:
status: Fix Committed → Fix Released
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers