Add deletion confirmation message for all files

Bug #1329136 reported by Kristina Hoeppner on 2014-06-12
6
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Mahara
Wishlist
Yuliya Bozhko

Bug Description

Currently, Mahara 1.9, when you delete a file, you only get a confirmation message when the file is used in one or more pages. However, when the file has not yet been used, a click on the trashbin in Content -> Files deletes the file immediately.

Since we don't have a trash where you could get things back that you deleted accidentally, your file is lost forever. The delete button is very close to the edit button making it easy to click on the wrong button.

It would be better if file deletions are confirmed at all times. I think we should keep the information about the number of pages that a file is used in to alert the user that they actually do use the file already and don't just have it sitting in their account.

With the introduction of artefact-level sharing, Yuliya and I briefly discussed whether users should be alerted to the fact that they have shared an artefact that they are about to delete. I think that is not necessary because we also don't let users know when they delete a page that they have shared with somebody else. Or would we need to let them know?

Since we already have the functionality of "about to delete a file that you use in a page", maybe it would be easy to implement also "about to delete a file that you have shared with someone"?

Changed in mahara:
status: Confirmed → In Progress
Changed in mahara:
assignee: nobody → Yuliya Bozhko (yuliya.bozhko)
milestone: none → 1.10.0

Reviewed: https://reviews.mahara.org/3437
Committed: http://gitorious.org/mahara/mahara/commit/1541dfd4b79edcb7277b6e59b0f7117f43f2f01f
Submitter: Aaron Wells (<email address hidden>)
Branch: master

commit 1541dfd4b79edcb7277b6e59b0f7117f43f2f01f
Author: Yuliya Bozhko <email address hidden>
Date: Thu Jun 12 14:26:49 2014 +1200

Add warning when any file is deleted (Bug #1329136)

Change-Id: I7887c87cdb56b89bdec35921780aba256c8b1184
Signed-off-by: Yuliya Bozhko <email address hidden>

Aaron Wells (u-aaronw) wrote :

I predict we will quite quickly get complaints from people about how, if they want to delete a lot of files, they have to click that popup over and over and over again.

But, I think this is still a step in the right direction. The solution for multiple deletes would be to add some kind of bulk deletion feature. OR, implement some kind of "undo"/"trashcan" feature that would make this warning unnecessary. But until we do those, having this warning is probably for the best.

Changed in mahara:
status: In Progress → Fix Committed
tags: added: usermanualupdate
tags: added: nominatedfeature
removed: usermanualupdate
Aaron Wells (u-aaronw) on 2014-10-21
Changed in mahara:
status: Fix Committed → Fix Released
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers