resubmitting a merge proposal should reuse the old commit message

Bug #676769 reported by Andrew Bennetts on 2010-11-18
40
This bug affects 7 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Launchpad itself
Low
Kit Randel

Bug Description

To reproduce:

 * make a merge proposal, give it a commit message.
 * resubmit that proposal
 * observe that the new proposal has no commit message.

I'd expect that either:

 1. the commit message is preserved in the new proposal, or
 2. the resubmit workflow would offer me the chance edit the commit message (and description) for the new proposal (defaulting to the message from the first original proposal).

Instead I have to notice that the commit message was forgotten, find the link to the old proposal, and copy-and-paste it from there. As a perhaps interesting data point I often want to update the description when resubmitting, but so far I've always wanted to use the commit message I already wrote as-is.

Related branches

lp:~blr/launchpad/recycle-commit-message
William Grant: Approve (code) on 2015-06-12
Tim Penhey (thumper) on 2010-11-18
tags: added: code-review confusing-ui
Changed in launchpad-code:
status: New → Triaged
importance: Undecided → Medium
Changed in launchpad:
importance: Medium → Low

This is particularly frustrating as a lot of the Ubuntu-related projects' CI fails when there is no commit message.

Kit Randel (blr) on 2015-06-03
Changed in launchpad:
assignee: nobody → Bayard 'kit' Randel (blr)
Launchpad QA Bot (lpqabot) wrote :
tags: added: qa-needstesting
Changed in launchpad:
status: Triaged → Fix Committed
Kit Randel (blr) on 2015-06-14
tags: added: qa-ok
removed: qa-needstesting
Colin Watson (cjwatson) on 2015-06-17
Changed in launchpad:
status: Fix Committed → Fix Released
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Duplicates of this bug

Other bug subscribers