Comment 1 for bug 503052

I'm not sure about this. Lot of users always keep the contact list closed and like to have the contact list hidden when starting.
Empathy remembers the last state of the contact list, so if it was hidden when you close it, it will be hidden when restarting.

The status is displayed in the status icon and the indicator-applet.