Disabled accounts data appears in timeline

Bug #1161546 reported by Nicholas Skaggs on 2013-03-28
6
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Friends
Undecided
Unassigned
Gwibber
Undecided
Unassigned
friends-app (Ubuntu)
Undecided
Unassigned

Bug Description

If you toggle off an online account, it doesn't remove posts from timeline

To repeat:

Add an online account, eg facebook
Start gwibber
--Timeline fills up with facebook posts
Close gwibber
Toggle account off in online accounts (both setting 'gwibber' to off, or turning off the entire account)
gwibber still contains the previous data from the account

EDIT: It appears that if I completely remove the account from online accounts the data is removed from gwibber.. Is this intended? If I disable an account I simply get no new data from the data source, and I must remove the account completely to remove the data? (If so, what about the other account integration points I may want to keep?)

Ubuntu QA Website (ubuntuqa) wrote :

This bug has been reported on the Ubuntu Package testing tracker.

A list of all reports related to this bug can be found here:
http://packages.qa.ubuntu.com/qatracker/reports/bugs/1161546

tags: added: package-qa-testing
summary: - Toggling off an online account doesn't remove posts from timeline
+ Disabled accounts data appears in timeline
description: updated
description: updated
Robert Bruce Park (robru) wrote :

The main problem here is that we don't have any way to just "hide" these messages, so when you delete the account and the messages disappear, those messages are being totally deleted, and then when you re-add the account they're being redownloaded anew.

I think we need to consider whether it really is the expected behavior that disabling an account without deleting it, should be deleting the messages. In my mind, Gwibber serves as a record of what messages you received. Compare to an email client; if you tell it to stop checking for new mail at one of your addresses, it doesn't scan through all your archive folders to delete every mail you ever got from that address. it might do that if you delete the account, but not if you simply disable it.

Changed in gwibber:
status: New → Invalid
Changed in friends:
status: New → Incomplete
assignee: nobody → Robert Bruce Park (robru)
Changed in gwibber:
assignee: nobody → Ken VanDine (ken-vandine)
Robert Bruce Park (robru) wrote :

Ken, might be easier to simply hide disabled account messages by filtering rather than outright deleting them. Would make it easier to bring them back when the account is re-enabled. Not sure.

Changed in friends-app (Ubuntu):
assignee: nobody → Robert Bruce Park (robru)
Changed in friends-app (Ubuntu):
status: New → Incomplete
assignee: Robert Bruce Park (robru) → Ken VanDine (ken-vandine)
Changed in friends:
assignee: Robert Bruce Park (robru) → nobody
Launchpad Janitor (janitor) wrote :

[Expired for Friends because there has been no activity for 60 days.]

Changed in friends:
status: Incomplete → Expired
Changed in friends-app (Ubuntu):
assignee: Ken VanDine (ken-vandine) → nobody
Changed in gwibber:
assignee: Ken VanDine (ken-vandine) → nobody
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers