More file information in the preview

Reported by Sebastián Porta on 2009-09-11
14
This bug affects 2 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Gloobus
Confirmed
Medium
BadChoice
gloobus-preview
Low
Daniel Fore

Bug Description

Right now, Gloobus Preview shows type and size of the file you're previewing.
Would be nice to view more information.
-- To be completed --
for videos: dimension, FPS;

--- Done ---
for audio: artist, album, time, etc.
for video: length

BadChoice (guitarboy000) on 2009-09-11
Changed in gloobus:
status: New → Confirmed
importance: Undecided → Medium
assignee: nobody → BadChoice (guitarboy000)
milestone: none → 0.4.2
zp (zekopeko) on 2009-12-26
Changed in gloobus-preview:
importance: Undecided → Low
assignee: nobody → Daniel Fore (daniel-p-fore)
Daniel Fore (danrabbit) on 2009-12-26
Changed in gloobus-preview:
status: New → In Progress
BadChoice (guitarboy000) on 2009-12-27
Changed in gloobus-preview:
milestone: none → 0.4.2
Daniel Fore (danrabbit) on 2009-12-29
description: updated

Daniel you will have to create a mockup for the video player. Were is
the info going to be displayed etc.

On Tue, Dec 29, 2009 at 6:51 PM, Daniel Fore <email address hidden> wrote:
> ** Description changed:
>
>  Right now, Gloobus Preview shows type and size of the file you're previewing.
> - Would be nice to view more information. For example, for videos: length, dimension, FPS; for audio: artist, album, time, etc.
> + Would be nice to view more information.
> + -- To be completed --
> + for videos: dimension, FPS;
> +
> + --- Done ---
> + for audio: artist, album, time, etc.
> + for video: length
>
> --
> More file information in the preview
> https://bugs.launchpad.net/bugs/427977
> You received this bug notification because you are a member of Gloobus
> Developers, which is the registrant for gloobus-preview.
>

@Daniel, A couple of questions about the last changes.
You mark as done for audio: artist, album, time, etc. Should be better to add the field titles?
For example, changing what's in this screenshot http://launchpadlibrarian.net/37189631/Pantallazo.png to

Title: Toda la Mañana
Artist: Pez
Album: Hoy.

And you mark as done for video: length. I noticed that the length it's show in minutes and when the video length it's over an hour you see only minutes (and seconds). For example, if a movie runtime it's 1 hour and 27 minutes the preview show 87 minutes.
I think it should be better to change this 'cause the video players usually display hours and minutes. What do you think?

Daniel Fore (danrabbit) wrote :

About the Music, I don't think the titles are necessary. I think we can gather enough information from prior knowledge (Hey, I know this band!), the album artwork, and the order of the titles themselves.

Video length is currently shown! So for this bug it is fixed. I agree it should display in a different format. Bug, that is a different bug!

I would suggest filing separate bugs for each complaint you have. It's hard to manage bugs in a big list like this one is. Also, comments aren't a good place to report bugs ;)

BadChoice (guitarboy000) on 2010-01-22
Changed in gloobus-preview:
milestone: 0.5 → 0.5.1
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Duplicates of this bug

Other bug subscribers

Related blueprints